Objector – Social Intolerance

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: April, 2018
Released: 2018 Malevolence Records
Rating: 3 / 5
Reviewer: Peter Atkinson

At least Belgium’s Objector don’t play coy with their throwbackedness. Their bio blurb notes that the quartet “aims to “please those who like their metal a bit Slayerly Kreated.” And that’s pretty much what the band deliver on their short, sweet and rather likable debut full-length, although Slayer and Kreator are less obvious influences than, say, Death Angel, Nuclear Assault, Vio-lence, Sacred Reich, Flotsam & Jetsam or, especially, Exodus.

Regardless, Social Intolerance is decidedly and unabashedly old school thrash metal. The energy level is always high, choruses are geared to be shouted along to, the riffs come fast and furious and – as the album title would indicate – the band share the same dim view of society/politics/religion as their influences, essentially concluding that we’re all fucked. The more that things change, the more they really do stay the same.

Credit where it’s due, however, Objector have written a pretty decent batch of songs for Social Intolerance, eight in all if you count the 20-second “Intro,” which clock in a trim and tidy 29 minutes. The band keep things relatively simple and don’t go overboard on either the technical or shreddy end of things. Sure, there are riffs aplenty here, but the arrangements are tight, crisp and compact, and everything here is reasonably catchy. With “Life Denied” it’s essentially all-ahead full until things wrap with “Vengeance (Will Be Mine),” propelled by guitarist/frontman Bock’s rapid-fire vocal delivery.

Sure, Objector could have done more to make their sound a bit more there own here. But the same could be said about just about all of the re-thrash bands that have popped up like so many whack-a-moles over the past decade-plus. And these guys don’t see as calculatingly reverential as some, which is a big check mark in their favor. They’ve clearly got solid chops, perhaps time and touring will help Objector hone them into something more distinctive.



Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Life Denied
3. My Mind Insane
4. Not of This World
5. Alarm
6. Social Intolerance
7. Toxic Storm
8. Vengeance (Will Be Mine)

Bock – guitars, vocals
Filip – guitars
Stef – bass
Jos – drums


, , , ,