Johan Kihlberg’s Impera – Age of Discovery

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: April 2018
Released: February 23rd, 2018 / AOR Heaven
Rating: 4 / 5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Not to be confused with the actual band Impera, their founding drummer has released a solo album under the monikier Johan Kihlberg’s Impera. When this happens, it usually implies that there is a breakup and the members are arguing over the use of the band name. No worries Impera fans as that is not the case here.

Johan’s latest offering is merely a way for him to express himself further in the music world. He is just branching out a bit and there is nothing wrong with that. Musically, AGE OF DISCOVERY does offer up a much broader range than previous work with Impera.

At first listen, I was thinking it came off like many other pop/metal bands sound. Pop is almost a scary word when it the vicinity of metal. That is why a lot throw the word melodic in there. Yes it is melodic at times, but in reality, some of the courses are of the ‘very radio friendly’ style. Another scary factor here is I really like this. Maybe it’s an age thing. Nah.

There are so many guest musicians on this one; you are going to have to check them out. Several vocalists that outshine on the chosen tracks they perform on. They should all be listed somewhere around here. Each track is just as memorable as the last. Very catchy I must add. There is almost a state of grace or a very strong emotion that was put into the tracks music as well as the lyrics. Not that every musician out there does that, but I get a sense, a true sense of it when I listen.

This reminds me of bands like Lionville, Pride of Lions, Damn Yankees, Treat, and Mr. Big to name a few. An album that is very well done. This melodic metal with a pop metal feel here and there will be embraced by those whom are not into the heavy side of metal. AOR fans will rejoice with this as well.


1. Prelude (intro)
2. That´s The Way That Life Goes
3. Fear
4. Falling
5. The End Of The Road
6. Just A Conversation
7. The Right Stuff
8. Why Does She Care
9. I Am I
10. It´s A Revolution

Johan Kihlberg – Drums/Keyboards
Lars Chriss (Lion’s Share)- Guitars
Mats Vassfjord (220 Volt) – Bass
Michael Sadler (Saga) – Lead & Backing Vocals on 8
Göran Edman (Yngwie Malmsteen, John Norum) – Lead & Backing Vocals on 6
Mick Devine (Seven) – Lead Vocals on 3, 5, 9 – Backing Vocals on 3, 7, 9, bonus track
Nigel Bailey (Bailey) – Lead Vocals on 7, 10, bonus track – Backing Vocals on 5, 10
Nils Patrik Johansson (Lion’s Share, Astral Doors) – Lead & Backing Vocals on 2, 3
Michael J. Scott – Lead & Backing Vocals on 4
Mattias IA Eklundh (Freak Kitchen) – solo on 9
Kay Backlund (Lion’s Share) – Keyboards on 1, 3, 6
Anders Rybank (Coastland Ride) – Keyboards on 8