Jaded Heart – Devil’s Gift

Spread the metal:

Jaded Heart - Devil’s Gift

Reviewed: April 2018
Released: March 30th, 2018 / Massacre Records
Rating: 4.5 / 5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Like so many other music fans out there, I find amazement when I talk about a great hard rock or metal band to another music aficionado that has been around for years. Lately I myself fall into this category. How can a band like Jaded Heart fly under my metal radio for so many years? Why man? Why?!

Jaded Heart formed in Germany in 1990 and after toning their skills put out their first full-length album in 1994. And since then, almost like clockwork, have released and album every other year since. That makes DEVIL’S GIFT their 13th album. Yeah, that’s a few.

For the other dummies out there like me, you/we have truly been missing out on a great band. Their blend of melodic metal, which this tends to lean more towards, and hard rock is done with the utmost brilliance. The incredible crafting of the tracks here has the perfect blend of melodies and harmonies that I have heard in a while. And I do believe I can say that without looking back at past reviews.

There is not even a need to single out tracks here which is something I do not do very often. They are all as equally as great as the next. The songs all have extremely catchy, sing along choruses that come off at times almost anathematic at times. Johan Fahlberg’s vocals are nearly flawless and fit very well with the music.

This is a must listen to for any fan of hard rock and metal alike.


1. Wasteland
2. The Enemy
3. Set Free
4. Scream Of Anger
5. Tears Of Our World
6. Phoenix
7. One World
8. Story Of My Life
9. Coming Home
10. Conspiracy Of Science
11. Final Moment
12. Black Days (Digipak Bonus)
13. Flying High (Digipak Bonus)

Johan Fahlberg – Vocals
Peter Östros – Guitars
Masahiro Eto – Guitars
Michael Müller – Bass
Bodo Stricker – Drums