Communic – Where Echoes Gather

Spread the metal:

Communic - Where Echoes GatherReviewed: December 2017
Released: 2017, AFM Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Since my first listen to their debut CONSPIRACY IN MIND released in 2005 on Nuclear Blast Records, I was hooked. That hook did last awhile through their sophomore release WAVES OF VISUAL DECAY the following year. After that, I did not keep up with the band for some reason. Some things in life leave you to question.

Communic are back with, after some time, with an incredible new album. The latest, WHERE ECHOS GATHER, is a roller coaster ride through all things metal. For those unaware, Communic is a three piece prog / power metal band from Norway. You would never guess them as a three piece. Communic, for the newbies, are a similar act to say Nevermore with touches of Rush here and there. Two greats combined into one. What can one say other than, yeesss!

Their latest, WHERE ECHOS GATHER is a heavy yet technically written masterpiece. And played as such. Six of the nine tracks are two-parters. I am going to have to look into the reasoning for that. On all three, parts 1 and 2 blend into each other as one. Their dark and melodic style is fueled by their ability to fill their songs with a riff heavy power metal style that is all their own.

It may have been awhile since listening to Communic, but it all came rushing back before the end of the first track. If you have not listened to Communic before, what are you waiting for? These guys are f**king great! If it’s okay with you, I’m going to go and listen to this one again.


Track Listing:
1. The Pulse of the Earth (Part 1 – The Magnetic Center)
2. The Pulse of the Earth (Part 2 – Impact of the Wave)
3. Where Echoes Gather (Part 1 – Beneath the Giant)
4. Where Echoes Gather (Part 2 – The Underground Swine)
5. Moondance
6. Where History Lives
7. Black Flag of Hate
8. The Claws of the Sea (Part 1 – Journey into the Source)
9. The Claws of the Sea (Part 2 – The First Moment)

Erik Mortensen – Bass
Tor Atle Andersen – Drums
Oddleif Stensland – Guitars, Vocals