Eluveitie – Evocation II: Pantheon

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: October 2017
Released: 2017, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Swiss folk metal group Eluveitie has been through quite the ringer lately. After the release of 2014’s ORIGINS, the band lost a bunch of members, including much-loved long-time vocalist Anna Murphy. The band understandably went quiet while they regrouped, but they are back with EVOCATION II: PANTHEON for 2017.

As implied by the title, this album is a sequel to the band’s all-acoustic album from 2009 – there’s no heavy metal to be found here. That’s not to say that the music isn’t worth hearing though because it most definitely is! The 53-minute journey is filled with Celtic-influenced music, much of which is instrumental. There are quiet passages but its largely energetic music meant to keep you engaged. I’m usually not one for instrumental songs but the music on this album never fails to keep me engaged, despite a few chant-based interludes.

As for the vocals-based songs, the are equally good and really allow new vocalist Fabienne Erni a chance to introduce herself and shine. She handles the material flawlessly and has an arresting presence behind the mic. She’s definitely a great addition to the band and it will be great to hear what she can do with the band’s metal cuts.

While the acoustic music might not be for everyone, EVOCATION II is a hugely entertaining listen that definitively proves that Eluveitie are equally adept at all sides of their musical personality. Fantastic music and a welcome return.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Dureððu
2. Epona
3. Svcellos II (Sequel)
4. Nantosvelta
5. Tovtatis
6. Lvgvs
7. Grannos
8. Cernvnnos
9. Catvrix
10. Artio
11. Aventia
12. Ogmios
13. Esvs
14. Antvmnos
15. Tarvos II (Sequel)
16. Belenos
17. Taranis
18. Nemeton

Chrigel Glanzmann: Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Bagpipes, Bodhran, Gaita, Harp, Mandola, Whistles
Kay Bream: Bass
Rafael Salzmann: Guitar
Nicole Ansperger: Violin, Backing Vocals
Matteo Sisti: Bagpipes, Whistles, Mandola
Alain Ackermann: Drums, Percussion
Jonas Wolf: Guitar
Michalina Malisz: Hurdy Gurdy
Fabienne Erni: Vocals, Celtic Harp, Mandola