Incantation – Profane Nexus

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: September 2017
Released: 2017, Relapse
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: John Haseltine

Incantation is undeniably one of the most under-rated and longest surviving death metal bands out there today. Upon us they have released 11 tracks of fierce blasphemy in the form of PROFANE NEXUS.

Incantation are one of those death metal bands that years ago I actually stopped following. Not for any other reason than I became pretty burned out on the blast beats, intestine churning riffs, and guttural growls which is the heart and soul of death metal. I will watch and listen to many, but few actually get the dollars spent on them. Incantation is still a worthy act in my book. They are a band that is now going on three decades of existence. Three decades is a very long time. And though there have been a member change or two….one thing that is the most impressive is their ability to stay true not only to themselves, but to their fans and the genre. Incantation is a band that has and will always be there. Simply put. So where does that put PROFANE NEXUS? It lands somewhere between the days of old and the days of new. Many people are still a bit stuck on their first couple albums. And even they were good, times change people. And even though Incantation has not strayed too far from the norm with this one, it is different enough for a bloke like me to enjoy.

Throughout they deliver their signature blasts that almost pound right through you. While there are many moments of a more doom laden style. Not a sludgy doom, (with the exception of “Incorporeal Despar”) but slow enough to be considered. The production is a bit polished so that makes it all the better. How else can I put this, this is an Incantation album, so there is really no way that it can come off a bad.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Muse
2. Rites of the Locust
3. Visceral Hexahedron
4. The Horns of Gefrin
5. Incorporeal Despair
6. Xipe Totec
7. Lus Sepulcri
8. Stormgate Convulsions from the Thunderous Shores of Infernal Realms Beyond the Grace of God
9. Messiah Nostrum
10. Omens to the Altar of Onyx 03:56

John McEntee – Guitars, Vocals
Kyle Severn – Drums
Chuck Sherwood – Bass, Lyrics