Liv Sin – Follow Me

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: June 2017
Released: 2017, Despotz
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

I dove into this album and I wasn’t armed with much knowledge of the band ahead of time. However, I know what I like to hear and Liv Sin is pretty damn cool. FOLLOW ME is the debut album, (is it a solo album?) of Liv Jagrell, formerly of Sister Sin. When that long-running Swedish act broke up a couple of years, Liv went right into her new project.

FOLLOW ME is Metal to the core with a few little hints of modernity, which thankfully are not too distracting. Jagrell’s voice is rough and raw and completely unique in my mind. She is a powerhouse vocalist, her roar is convincing and energetic and when she sings in a slower, dare I say more feminine style, it is still a great voice. For example on the intro of the semi-power ballad, ‘Endless Roads’ we get to hear perhaps her more natural voice and it is excellent as well. Otherwise, she has a raspy intensity that sets her apart from the pack. The songs are traditional songs, not very progressive but well-written and arranged with good choruses. The band keeps things streamlined, not too many extra frills, just the occasional bit of acoustic guitar or a slight voice-over, like on ‘Killing Yourself To Live’ and some well-placed changes in tempo. The album is mostly mid-paced with lots of good crunchy in the guitar tone and everything falls nicely into a good head-banging zone. The whole album is very appealing based on good songs and ideas, not just simple, hooks and still quite heavy.

FOLLOW ME is a very decent package, it has a couple of guest stars, great production values, and a way cool cover of Fight’s ’Immortal Sin’, which is quite appropriate I think. All of these factors just add to the list of reasons why you may want to check out Liv Sin. For whatever reason, I never paid attention to Sister Sin. If any of their records are as good as this one, I’ll have to go back and check out their deep catalogue.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. The Fall
2. Hypocrite
3. Let Me Out
4. Black Souls
5. Godless Utopia
6. Endless Roads
7. Killing Ourselves to Live
8. I’m Your Sin
9. Emperor of Chaos
10. Immortal Sin
11. The Beast Inside

Liv Lagrell Vocals
Patrick Ankermark Guitar
Christoffer Bertzell Guitar
Tommie Winther Bass
Per Bjelovuk Drums