Birdflesh/Organ Dealer – Split

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: June 2017
Released: 2017, HPGD Productions
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

As a genre – grindcore is the great equalizer. Doesn’t matter how long you’ve been in the game or what you’ve got to show for it, there’s always a new kid around the way that’s as good and ready to knock you on your ass. Such is the case with this latest split LP from Birdflesh (one of Sweden’s longest running grind outfits) and Organ Dealer (an up and coming outfit from the Garden State). The continents and time zones might be different, but the results are much the same – your ass, on the ground, getting kicked.

The Swedes own the first half of the album, ripping 10 new tracks of crustpunk infused Euro blast. The trio never disappoints, and gems like “Caligoulash”, “Dead is Alive”, “The Man Who Turned Into a Boy” are loose and fun crossover infused tunes. Organ Dealer’s 2015 debut VISCERAL INFECTION was a sleeper hit, and their 9 new contributions are more straightforward Discharge/Phobia-esque exhalations. “Violence Ensues” is a predictable opener, but the d-beat blast of “Dilemmas of the Blind” and skank friendly “The Familiar Darkness” offer fresh variety into a collection of already highly charged tunes full of social anxiety and general hostilities.

These 19 songs will blitz through your earholes in the span of less than 30 minutes, but you’ll feel like you’ve gotten your fill after Birdflesh and Organ Dealer have had their way with you. With this split, you’re basically getting two epic grind releases for the price of one – and who doesn’t love a bargain? Birdflesh are the old school, Organ Dealer are the new school, and together they’ll kick your ass after school on the playground at lunchtime.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Born to Wait
2. The Lawn Mover
3. Trapped in Forcepower
4. Caligoulash
5. Dead is Alive
6. Gory Morning Glory
7. Miss Complaint
8. Insane Inventor
9. Unweather
10. The Man Who Turned Into A Boy

Organ Dealer
11. Violence Ensues
12. An Ending
13. Caged Resentment
14. Chemical Reaction
15. Exasperated
16. Dilemmas of the Blind
17. Controlled Submission
18. The Familiar Darkness
19. Consent to Hatred

Smattro Ansjovis – Drums, Vocals
Achmed Abdulex – Guitars, Vocals
Panda Flamenco – Bass, Vocals

Organ Dealer
Trevor Graham – Bass
Scott Moriarty – Vocals
Eric Schnee – Drums
Jeffrey Knoblauch – Guitars
Thomas Maher – Guitars