THE ROLLING STONES IN MONO To Be Released September 30th On LP, CD, Digital and Deluxe

Spread the metal:

This year, for the first time ever, all mono studio recordings released by The Rolling Stones in the 1960s will be available in one unique historic collection. On September 30 ABKCO Records will make available world wide the vinyl and CD box sets of The Rolling Stones in Mono as well as Standard Digital, Mastered for iTunes and True HD (96k/24 bit, 192k/24 bit and DSD). The collection will contain a total of 186 tracks, 56 of which have never before been heard in mono since the advent of the digital age.

Spanning the era between 1963 and 1969, The Rolling Stones in Mono covers the formative years of “The Greatest Rock & Roll Band in the World.”  During this era, most rock and pop recordings were originally recorded in mono, with stereo often an afterthought, dealt with only following the completion of the original (mono) version of a given track.  In short, mono reigned and this was, indeed, the case for the Rolling Stones during the period. While typical playback systems of the time were less than sophisticated, the original mono recordings, especially as heard through quality components, were of the highest audio quality and had a powerful and very direct impact. “You felt you were in the room . . . listening to exactly what went down in the studio, no frills, no nothing,” Keith Richards wrote in his autobiography, Life. “Rock was a completely new musical form,” Mick Jagger explained in a 1995 Rolling Stone interview. “It hadn’t been around for ten years when we started doing it . . . You felt like one of the chosen few, one of the only ones in the world who would get to play with this new toy. We had evangelical fervor.”  Late recording engineer Dave Hassinger explained how he mixed his ’64-’66 work for the Stones in mono, “They always played together at the same time,” Hassinger said. “They would run the parts down, work out the changes here and there, nail it down, then start recording.”

Rolling Stone senior editor David Fricke, in his 5,000-word essay that accompanies the set, writes, “The Rolling Stones in Mono is the full studio account of that first decade of history and mayhem, newly remastered with unprecedented fidelity and revelatory detail.” His commentaries are included with the vinyl and CD box sets as part of a 4-color deluxe 48 page lie flat book that features numerous rare photos by renowned photographer Terry O’Neill. The 16 LPs or 15 CDs are housed in the original full color album jackets that fit along with the book into a one piece specially crafted box.

The Rolling Stones in Mono was mastered by acclaimed GRAMMY® award winning engineer Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering. For the project he utilized Direct Stream Digital (DSD) transfers from the original master recordings, with a sampling rate of 2,822,400. Lacquer cutting for vinyl was performed at Abbey Road Studios by Alex Wharton and Sean Magee. All vinyl box sets will be numbered and pressed on 180-gram vinyl.  The Rolling Stones in Mono project has been overseen by Teri Landi, ABKCO’s Grammy award winning Chief Audio Engineer.

The Rolling Stones In Mono [16 LP vinyl box set; 15 CD box set] (all tracks also available digitally)
1) The Rolling Stones (UK, 1964)
2) 12 X 5 (1964)
3) The Rolling Stones No. 2 (UK, 1965)
4) The Rolling Stones Now! (1965)
5) Out of Our Heads (US, 1965)
6) Out of Our Heads (UK, 1965)
7) December’s Children (And Everybody’s) (1965)
8) Aftermath (UK, 1966)
9) Aftermath (US, 1966)
10) Between the Buttons (UK, 1967)
11) Flowers (1967)
12) Their Satanic Majesties Request (1967)
13) Beggar’s Banquet (1968)
14) Let it Bleed (1969)
15) Stray Cats (a new collection of single A & B sides plus E.P. tracks)*

*Stray Cats tracklist
1) Come On
2) I Want To Be Loved
3) I Wanna Be Your Man
4) Stoned
5) Fortune Teller
6) Poison Ivy (Version 1)
7) Bye Bye Johnny
8) Money
9) Poison Ivy (Verison 2)
10) Not Fade Away
11) I’ve Been Loving You Too Long
12) The Under Assistant West Coast Promotion Man (single version)
13) 19th Nervous Breakdown
14) Sad Day
15) Con Le Mie Lacrime (As Tears Go By)
16) Long, Long While
17) Who’s Driving Your Plane?
18) We Love You (single version)
19) Dandelion (single version)
20) Child Of The Moon
21) Jumpin’ Jack Flash
22) Street Fighting Man (single version)
23) Honky Tonk Women
24) You Can’t Always Get What You Want (single version)

Pre-orders are being taken via uDiscover (with or without 7″ bundles) and Amazon (without 7″ bundles) in advance of the Sept. 30 release date.

The Rolling Stones in Mono will be available via uDiscover and Amazon for the first 90 days after release (ending December 30, 2016) and thereafter will be sold everywhere.

Deluxe –

LP Boxset –

CD Boxset –

Find out more information about The Rolling Stones In Mono and the albums that make up the set at

ABOUT ABKCO –  ABKCO Music & Records is one of the world’s leading independent entertainment companies.  It is home to iconic music catalogs that include compositions and recordings by Sam Cooke, The Rolling Stones, Bobby Womack, Eric Burdon, The Animals, Herman’s Hermits, Marianne Faithfull, The Kinks as well as the Cameo Parkway masters by such artists as Chubby Checker, Bobby Rydell, Clint Eastwood, The Dovells, ? & The Mysterians, Charlie Gracie, The Tymes and Dee Dee Sharp. Soundtrack releases include David O Russell’s Golden Globe nominated Joy, the 2015 Academy Award, GRAMMY and BAFTA winning soundtrack to Wes Anderson’s Golden Globe winner The Grand Budapest Hotel, 2013 Academy Award nominated Moonrise Kingdom, the 2010 Academy Award nominated Fantastic Mr. Fox, and The Darjeeling Limited, Edgar Wright’s The World’s End and Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, Independent Spirit Award Winner Safety Not Guaranteed, the international blockbuster Fast Five, Boardwalk Empire Volumes 2 & 3: Music from the HBO Original Series, the soundtrack to the first season of the hit Showtime series Californication.  Releases on ABKCO’s SAR label include albums by LC Cooke, The Soul Stirrers, Johnnie Taylor and the Valentinos.  ABKCO is active on many fronts including the release of critically lauded compilations and reissues from its catalog, film and commercial placement of its master recordings and music publishing properties in all media.  One Night in Miami, ABKCO’s latest theatrical production, played to critical acclaim in Los Angeles, Baltimore and Denver and opens at the Donmar Warehouse in London on October 6, 2016.  ABKCO Films released Alejandro Jodorowsky’s The Dance of Reality; the renowned cult director’s classics El Topo and The Holy Mountain, fully restored and remastered to HD, were shown at the 2006 Cannes Film Festival (Classics section) and at the prestigious 44th New York Film Festival. ABKCO is currently in pre-production on a Sam Cooke bio pic and upcoming releases include a restoration of the Spaghetti Western Blindman starring Ringo Starr.   ABKCO’s  latest release is The Durrells, a 6 part TV series based on Gerald Durrell’s book The Corfu Trilogy.