Zakk Wylde – Book of Shadows II

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: May 2016
Released: 2016, EOne Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

BOOK OF SHADOWS II is already released 20 days ago and 20 years after the first part with the same title.

This is the second solo album by the great guitarist. It’s an album full of acoustic and emotional moments. Together with HANGOVER MUSICVOL. VI, Zakk comes to makes us feel love in its best version. Lovey, concise, emotional, sensory music under the sign of a very talented man.

BOOK OF SHADOWS II is just the best album that Zakk Wylde has released the last 10 years after the magnificent CATACOMBS OF THE BLACK VATICAN. Of course, some might find it difficult to understand how this ballad – album is one of the highlights in his Zakk’s career, but this makes sense to me.

By the very first track, “Autumn Changes”, you can realize that it is an album that moves in the style and quality of “Mama I’m Coming Home”, although this song like “Black” of Pearl Jam. “Darkest Hour”, “Lost Prayer” and “Sleepless Dogs” are not only among the best songs written by Zakk Wylde, but songs that can blow away any grung-y mock-emotional song.

The album is a culmination of classic rock with a pinch of soul and a strong dose of sharp and well-defined country, as you would expect out of the golden age of Lynyrd Skynyrd, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and why not – the Jimi Hendrix-era, as after this album contains lots of “electricity” and solos. BOOK OF SHADOWS is the pantheon and the summary of what we call classic rock.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Autumn Changes
2. Tears of December
3. Lay Me Down
4. Lost Prayer
5. Darkest Hour
6. The Levee
7. Eyes of Burden
8. Forgotten Memory
9. Yesterday’s Tears
10. Harbors of Pity
11. Sorrowed Regrets
12. Useless Apologies
13. Sleeping Dogs
14. The King

Zakk Wylde – Vocals, Guitar