Spread the metal:

Sacred Oath has just posted an audio stream of “Taken” – the first single from their forthcoming album “Ravensong.”  Angel Thorne Music has announced they will release the band’s 7th studio album “Ravensong” September 18th 2015 worldwide via ILS/Caroline/Universal.

The public audio stream for “Taken” can be found on the band’s Facebook Page and at .

“We got adventurous on this one,” says singer-guitarist Rob Thorne, “but it’s still very much an Oath record – melodic and dark.  I’d have to say it was the best experience I’ve had making an album since we did the ‘Sacred Oath’ album in 2009.”

“Ravensong” is a return to the same line-up that recorded “World On Fire” in 2010: Bill Smith (guitar), Brendan Kelleher (bass), Kenny Evans (drums), and Rob Thorne (vocals, guitar).  The band’s last album “Fallen” (2013) featured the original members from their 1988 debut “A Crystal Vision” as part of a 25th anniversary celebration.

Cover art for “Ravensong” was illustrated by the band’s drummer Kenny Evans, who also did the cover for “A Crystal Revision” back in 1998.  “Rob called me about an idea of a raven silhouette for the cover and I asked him if I could take a crack at it,” said Kenny.  “It worked out very well.  I guess we’ll hear what people think soon enough.  It’s certainly a different kind of cover for Sacred Oath, but that was what we were going for.”

All 10 songs were written by Thorne, which is not typical for the band, though he has been the primary songwriter since the beginning.  The album clocks in at over 52 minutes in length.  Track listing is as follows:

1.      Death Kills

2.      Taken

3.      Necrodancer

4.      Ravensong

5.      So Cold

6.      Live and Burn

7.      Culture of Sin

8.      Heaven-sent, Hell-bent

9.      When All Is Said & Done

10.  Brighter Than The Sun


“Ravensong” will be available as a digipack CD with 12 page booklet insert, mp3 download, and also “Mastered for iTunes” with PDF booklet download.

The band expects to announce tour dates for the US beginning in September.

About EvilG 11347 Articles
Owner of