Synkvervet – Trollspeil

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2015
Released: 2014, Independent
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Originally meant to be Iwan’s personal project consisting only in instrumental songs, he soon realized that this adventure craved for vocals. The Norwegian metallers Synkvervet became a full band and have released the debut “Vår Avmakt” in 2013. One year has passed and now they’ve returned with the sophomore full-length “Trollspeil” which was independently released in December 2014.

The album’s guitar riffs are ripping, strong and include a catchy flow that gives us black metal and melodic death metal soundscapes. The tracks have a vigorous orchestral component delivered by classic arrangements which sometimes turn out to possess a folk outfit – like in “Breathtaking” or “Angelfall”. The choirs are also a tool that exalts the band’s celestial side. Even with the complex beauty of the arrangements, there’s also space to a clean and harmonious piano, like in “Ektet i Elven”. In spite of the orchestral melody, the band is also able to apply dissonant moments giving a darker sonority to the beautifulness that’s built during the record, like in the track “Marenatt”.

The using of an angelical voice sung by a female vocalist can be heard in some choruses or bridges contrasting with the furious black metal growls. This addition makes us remind of their country fellows Siebenbürgen who were active between 1994 and 2009. A clean voice this time offered by a male singer is given through a near-operatic way transforming the black metal scene into a symphonic nature associated with the gothic/dark metal stuff that was done in the early 2000s. These different types of vocals cross each other in some climax moments and the lyrics are shared to us in their mother tongue as well as in English.

This new album “Trollspeil” is proof that talented artists don’t need to be under a deal with a major label and it’s possible to release interesting, beautiful and well-produced music.

Reviewed by Diogo Ferreira


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Horns of Vengeance
2. The Horde
3. Breathtaking
4. Inner Sanctum
5. Marenatt
6. Ektet i elven
7. Hulderlokk
8. Clearwater Diamonds
9. Angelfall
10. Vandrer heden

Iwan – All instruments
Rongner – Vocals
Niclas – Vocals
Christina – Vocals (female)
Rino – Drums
Espen – Guitars


About UK Team

View all posts by UK Team →