Reason – The Deception Of Dreams

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2015
Released: 2015, Sky-Rocket Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Reason is a relatively new hard rock band out of Cheltenham, England; formed by long time friends Chris (guitar) and Paul (vocals). The band has one previous album to their credit, 2011’s THE DARKEST STAR, which I’ve not heard. When I received this album, based on the record’s Crimson Glory-ish cover art, I was expecting regal power metal, but what I got with THE DECEPTION OF DREAMS was quite different.

Indeed, as I mentioned at the outset of this review, Reason plys their trade in a much more hard rock vein. That said, the album cover does truly hint at the progressive flair in Reason’s music, the band doing what they can to stand out in a hard rock crowd. When they hit, as in “Fire Eternal”, the music is infectious, driving riffs, swirling keyboards, Paul Mace’s smooth vocals, and the oddly lo-fidelity production all combining into something special. Indeed, the first four songs on this album are so infectious that I was already thinking about this album for inclusion in my Top 20 of 2015 list! That may still be the case, we’ll find out in a year, but the remaining five songs will really have to grow on me to make that happen.

Starting with the ballad “September Child”, the album loses its momentum, and never quite regains it until the truly progressive finale, “Souldrift”. None of the remaining songs are bad, and the musicianship is impeccable throughout, but they just don’t grab my attention and keep me listening.

Ultimately, I come away from THE DECEPTION OF DREAMS really happy that in 2015 a band is still trying new ideas and working to create a sound of its own rather than simply following the established rules. Even if it doesn’t always work the way they may want, Reason’s delivered an extremely solid, enjoyable record that’s fully recommended to hard rock fans.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Synchronized (The Beating of Your Heart)
2. Sacrifice
3. Fire Eternal
4. Heartless
5. September Child
6. Nothing
7. Revelation
8. Star-Crossed
9. Souldrift

Paul Mace: Vocals
Chris Gyngell: Guitar, Backing Vocals
Gil Hird: Keyboards
Gray Corbett: Bass