SANCTUARY releases video for “Frozen”

Reactivated Seattle metal band, SANCTUARY, has released the video to their track, “Frozen”, which was filmed in Germany and directed by Dirk Behlau. The track comes off their upcoming album, The Year The Sun Died, which is due out October 6th in Europe and October 14th in North America via Century Media Records. To watch “Frozen”, click the link below:

Guitarist Lenny Rutledge comments: “This video shoot was a blast. The location was an abandoned coal mine processing plant near Essen, Germany. You can see many bizarre birdcage size baskets hanging from the ceiling. There were thousands of them. We were told that they were some type of ‘laundry management devices’. They appear as something much more creepy and ominous in my opinion. Almost as if they were some sort of medieval torture devices. The entire building seemed to have a very haunting vibe.”

Sanctuary - The Year The Sun Died
Sanctuary – The Year The Sun Died

The Year The Sun Died, the first SANCTUARY album in 25 years, is the long-awaited follow-up to the band’s first two studio albums that were released on Epic Records:Refuge Denied (1987) and Into the Mirror Black (1989). Singer Warrel Dane’s sky-high vocals combined with guitarist Lenny Rutledge’s more mature take on classic thrash riffs separated the band from the throes of metal acts struggling to get noticed at the time. With The Year The Sun Died, SANCTUARY continues that legacy that they started decades ago, delivering yet another fresh take on “classic-sounding” metal. Featuring artwork by Travis Smith (OPETH, NEVERMORE) and mixed/produced by Zeuss (ROB ZOMBIE, SUICIDE SILENCE, CROWBAR, etc.), this upcoming album promises to be worth the wait.

The Year The Sun Died has already been met with worldwide critical acclaim. Decibel Magazine (USA) declares, “You want powerful, progressive thrash metal? You’ll find it here…” and gave it 8 out of 10 stars. Aardshock Magazine (NL) put the band on the cover, proclaiming them the comeback of the year. The band also appeared on the cover of Germany’s Rock Hard with the number 1 album that month.

To pre-order The Year The Sun Died, head over to CM Distro for a variety of physical formats:

The Year The Sun Died track-listing
1. Arise and Purify
2. Let The Serpent Follow Me
3. Exitium (Anthem of the Living)
4. Question Existence Fading
5. I Am Low
6. Frozen
7. One Final Day (Sworn to Believe)
8. The World is Wired
9. The Dying Age
10. Ad Vitam Aeternam
11. The Year the Sun Died
BONUS: “Waiting for the Sun” (THE DOORS cover; included on the mediabook, plus CD insert inside the LP)

Nov. 14 – Seattle, WA – S7
Nov. 15 – Vancouver, BC – Rickshaw
Nov. 16 – Portland, OR – Hawthorne
Nov. 19 – Anaheim, CA – The Grove
Nov. 20 – Las Vegas, NV – LVCS
Nov. 21 – Phoenix, AZ – Club Red
Nov. 22 – San Diego, CA – Ramona Mainstage

SANCTUARY line-up 2014:
Warrel Dane – Vocals
Lenny Rutledge – Guitars
Jim Sheppard – Bass
Dave Budbill – Drums
Brad Hull – Guitars



Please follow and like us:



About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →