Destruction – Spiritual Genocide

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: January 2014
Released: 2012, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: JP

Editors Note. was founded in 1995 as a forward thinking site. Our goal is, and always has been, to support Real Metal. The decision was made that very rarely do we ever go back and review an album from before 1995. Does the world really need another CD review of Master Of Puppets, Powerslave or Screaming For Vengeance? We don’t think so. We have always supported what is happening now.

Starting in January, 2014, as we head towards our 10,000th review and the 20th Anniversary of, we are looking back and filling in a few gaps in the review database. We want to complete the post-1995 review catalogue of some of the bands that we have supported since 1995, when very few, if any website were supporting real Metal. It’s fun to go back and revisit some of these albums that we did not review when they were first released. Enjoy!

When one of the big four of Germanic thrash titans release an album, it is usually a big deal across the Metal world. I’m a bit surprised that we took a while to review the new Destruction album SPIRITUAL GENOCIDE. The band released album lucky #13 in late 2012 and it has been on and off in my CD player for quite a while.

SPIRITUAL GENOCIDE looks good with the Mad Butcher mascot gracing the cover and the booklet has really gorgeous and grim depictions of people getting tortured. The production is great as well, making for a loud, clear sounding album. It seems like a long time ago and it was (at time of writing this review) 16 years ago since the bands only real career misfire, THE LEAST SUCCESSFUL HUMAN CANNONBALL. Since then Destruction have had seven virtually flawless albums in a row, eight idf you count the remake album. SPIRITUAL GENOCIDE is every we have come to love and expect from the trio; fast, heavy, dark, and of course Schmier’s quintessential thrash vocal delivery. All the songs (expect the intro run in the four minute mark, they drop in, do the destruction, and leave again quickly. No ballads, no jokey cover tunes, just skull-fracturing thrash. There are a few extended/expanded version with cover tunes and so on, but my streamlined version is 10 tracks of thrash bliss.

When a band gets to this point in their career they have the luxury of inviting a few friends along to the album and SPIRITUAL GENOCIDE is loaded with guest stars. There are some guest solos by Drake from (Evile) and ex-Destruction member, Harry. Metti and Bjorn of Perzonal War do some guest vocals and fellow Big Four members Gerre (Tankard) and Angelripper (Sodom) do some back-up vocals. The song ‘Legacy Of The Past’ is one of those great songs where the lyrics are made up from bits and pieces of various other songs and album titles, and the song is naturally a tribute to the classic era of Metal, referencing bands like Slayer, Judas Priest, Metallica and many German thrash bands.

Destruction is of course one of the longest running, best-selling, most influential, thrash bands of all time and SPIRITUAL GENOCIDE shows us why they are genre leaders to this day.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Exordium
2. Cyanide
3. Spiritual Genocide
4. Renegades
5. City of Doom
6. No Signs of Repentance
7. To Dust You Will Decay
8. Legacy of the Past
9. Carnivore
10. Riot Squad
11. Under Violent Sledge

Schmier Vocals, Bas
Mike Guitars
Vaaver Drums