Mystic Prophecy – Killhammer

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December 2013
Released: 2013, Massacre
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

This is the so-called magical nexus of art and life. The knife’s edge where raw artistic passion meets focused creative expression; is the space all serious musicians seek…but few find. On KILLHAMMER, the new album from Greek/German metal icons Mystic Prophecy, RD Liapakis and his band found that space. This is perhaps Mystic Prophecy’s heaviest and most menacing album to date. They unleash their brand new album and this shocking and awe-inspiring collection looks set to stir the metal world’s soul.

A blistering 11-song tour-de-force that explores the nightmarish Ancient Greek world of Spartans (‘300 in Blood’), the Norths (‘Warriors of the Northern Sea’), and the deep gates of Hell and Fire. KILLHAMMER explores the most bone-crushing riffs, stratospheric vocals, and chilling lyrics. It is a soul-searing album not for the faint of heart. Always armed with the dynamic vocal range of vocalist RD Liapakis, and a renewed passion he hasn’t felt for many years, Mystic Prophecy forged an album that cannot be ignored. KILLHAMMER has come to kill and those knocked out tunes are aptly killing!

Every track hits the mark, but it’s the traumatizing, discordant doom of the title track, ‘Killhammer’, ‘Hate Black’ and ‘Children of The Damned’ that provide the strongest proof that these people have brains and imagination as well as fearsome chops. Intricate and vicious heavy metal riffs and solos are propelled by pulverizing rhythmic blasts and magnified by RD Liapakis’s ferocious lyrics, spat in a range of US-Power-Heavy screams.

This is Mystic Prophecy’s 8th flawless, life-affirming comeback, sizzling with energy and renewed vitality, then, and a gold-plated contender for album of the year and the best soundtrack while setting the world on fire!!!


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Killhammer
2. Armies of Hell
3. To Hell and Back
4. Kill the Beast
5. Hate Black
6. Children of the Damned
7. 300 in Blood
8. Angels of Fire
9. Warriors of the Northern Seas
10. Set the World on Fire
11. Crazy Train

Roberto Dimitri Liapakis Vocals
Markus Pohl Guitars
Connie Andreszka Bass
Constantine Guitars
Tyronne Silva Drums