Bliss of Flesh – Beati Pauperes Spiritu

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December 2013
Released: 2013, Non Serviam
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Helias Papadopoulos

There is a Slayer lyric that describes precisely French Black Death metallers’ new sickening elaboration; ‘Like a disease spreading death, erasing your existence’. This is a long awaited impressive blackened death masterpiece.

BEATI PAUPERES SPIRITU, is another classic; schizophrenic, creepy, unfathomable, a triumphant splurge of unhinged ideas. Seething blast beats, jagged, atonal-sharp riffs and a generous helping of psychotic vocals provide the foundations upon which all manner of sanity-threatening indulgence is gleefully sprayed. Two obvious highlights are the hammering, bleep-infested twitch-up of ‘Amen’ and ‘Black Procession’, but there isn’t a single moment that isn’t both 100 per cent mental and utterly god damn-ingly awesome.

Those aggressive French men seem to have nothing dainty and delicate on them, and that is what we like. Aggression, being extreme as few others can be. BEATI PAUPERES SPIRITU, means \’Satan’s chosen ones’ return and surely they are “on the path to expiation” by this vicious and malevolent work.
The stunning and gruesome vocals of Necurat seem to come straight of Hell, the great cover made by Nagash, the hyper-blasting frenzies of ‘Disciple’ show the determinedly darkly hypnotic and sadistic music that Marduk and others would like to have for their own.

Bliss of Flesh follow a fully blast path through the gates of Hell in this wild sonic violence called BEATI PAUPERES SPIRITU, where there are plenty of barbaric, high speed insanity to be savoured here and there isn’t a single track that doesn’t bulge with revitalized satanic fury. Realizing that as Slayer said ‘Evil has no boundaries’, Bliss Of Flesh have made their strongest album to date.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Black Procession 5:17
2. A.M.E.N. 5:25
3. Disciple 4:15
4. On the Paths to Expiation 4:38
5. Forgotten Epitaphs 8:08
6. Rosary of Shame 5:38
7. Sadistic Abstinence 5:05
8. Possessed 4:54
9. Pariah 5:30

Necurat – Vocals
Sikkardinal – Guitars
Pandemic – Guitars
J. Poizion – Bass
Fleshstigma – Drums