When Ronnie Montrose passed away on March 3, 2012, friends and musicians
immediately wondered what they could do to pay homage to one of rock’s all-time
legendary – and influential – guitarists. The result was some of music’s most
renowned artists uniting for a concert only a month and a half later (April 27)
and performing Ronnie classics throughout the evening – which will now make its
official DVD release on December 10, 2013, ‘Concert for Ronnie Montrose – A
Celebration of His Life In Music.’

Recorded in San Francisco at the historic Regency Ballroom and mixed in 5.1
surround sound, the DVD features performance by Ronnie’s past band members in
Montrose (Sammy Hagar, Denny Carmassi, Bill Church with Joe Satriani), Gamma
(Davey Pattison, Denny Carmassi and Glenn Letsch with Marc Bonilla), performing
both groups’ hits.

Additionally, Ronnie’s colleagues and people he mentored and produced over the
40 years of his career are featured as well, including Neal Schon (Journey),
Ricky Phillips (Styx), Steve Smith (ex-Journey), Ed Roth, Jimmy Paxson (Stevie
Nicks), Jeff Watson (ex-Night Ranger), Tesla, Eric Singer and Tommy Thayer
(Kiss), Eric Martin (Mr. Big), and more.

The DVD will also include interviews, bonus features, a photo gallery, and an
additional set of Ronnie’s hits by an all-star band featuring  Chuck Terpo,
Mario Cipollina, Tal Morris, Dave Meniketti and the members of Y&T. This was
recorded and filmed at Bob Weir’s TRI Studios.

A trailer can be viewed

The iconic and legendary Ronnie Montrose has been called the Father Of American
Hard Rock – an innovator and an incendiary guitar genius. In his short time with
Van Morrison Ronnie created the iconic guitar riff for the classic song “Wild
Nights”.  In the Edgar Winter group he left even a bigger Mark with his catchy
heavy-handed riffs on songs like “Free Ride” and “Frankenstein”. But it would be
his self-titled release, MONTROSE that would become the cornerstone of American
hard rock.   This debut in 1973 crafted such classics as “Rock the Nation”, “Bad
Motor Scooter,” and “Space Station #5.”  It laid the ground work and became the
template for bands like Van Halen and countless subsequent musicians. His
musical Journey lead him to the creation of  GAMMA where he crafted songs like
“Voyager”, “Thunder And Lighting” and “Ready For Action”.  Ronnie was always
searching and reinventing himself musically.  Venturing through a  brief
instrumental period he brought us both “Open Fire” and his masterpiece version
of “Town Without Pity”.

And now, fans will be able to experience the music of Ronnie once again, with
the new DVD, ‘Concert for Ronnie Montrose – A Celebration of His Life In Music.’


1.         Overture

2.         Open Fire

3.         Town Without Pity

4.         I Don’t Want It

5.         Little Suzi

6.         One Thing On My Mind

7.         Free Ride

8.         Frankenstein

9.         Thunder And Lightning

10.         Razor King

11.         No Tears

12.         Ready For Action

13.         Fight To The Finish

14.         Voyager

15.         Lighthouse

16.         One And A Half

17.         Good Rockin’ Tonight

18.         Rock The Nation

19.         Make It Last

20.         Bad Motor Scooter

21.         Rock Candy

22.         Space Station No. 5

23.         Connection


1.         Good Rockin’ Tonight

2.         Rock Candy

3.         Oh No You Don’t

4.         Paper Money

5.         Wild Night



About EvilG

Owner of
View all posts by EvilG →