Trouble – The Distortion Field

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: September 2013
Released: 2013, FRW Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Last month Aaron reviewed this album and did a fine job touching on many aspects of the record. Being familiar with the band and it’s previous releases he had comparisons to earlier Trouble music. Being totally unfamiliar with the band until this album I felt that I would like to add to what my fellow Staffer wrote.

To me this album sounded great. It was heavy, but not too heavy. I would put it in a category similar to Savatage and that may be to the vocal similarities in places to Jon Oliva during the STREETS-era. Musically there is not much new here but it is a solid album that is enjoyable to listen to from start to finish. Nothing really stands out or grabs your attention. The songs are all enjoyable with some really good guitar but as Aaron said in his review the recording is soggy. The mix is not clear and nothing is distinct or defined. It is not a well produced album in that there is no life to it.

A fairly enjoyable album to listen to from the angle of someone that hasn’t heard a Trouble album previously. I wanted to add to Aaron’s review from this angle so that whoever reads this will get a different, yet similar view of this release.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. When the Sky Comes Down
2. Paranoia Conspiracy
3. The Broken Have Spoken
4. Sink or Swim
5. One Life
6. Have I Told You
7. Hunters of Doom
8. Glass of Lies
9. Butterflies
10. Sucker
11. Greying Chill of Autumn
12. Bleeding Alone
13. Your Reflection

Kyle Thomas – Vocals
Rick Wartell – Guitars
Bruce Franklin – Guitars
Marko Lira – Drums