Scorpion Child – S/T

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: September 2013
Released: 2013, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

Austin, Texas is where this 5 piece call home. Compared to such greats as Black Sabbath and Robert Plant, these Heavy Rockers have a lot to live up to. This is their self-titled debut album and if it’s any indication, these guys will be huge.

It was by chance that I discovered Scorpion Child. It was recommended to me because of past purchases and viewings. After watching the video for “Polygon of Eyes” I was hooked. These guys were great and I needed to hear more. After listening to the song several times I began to search them out and I am glad that I did.

Heavy yet melodic and killer riffs everywhere. Add in some of the best vocals you have heard in awhile and you got Scorpion Child. This album has the groove and heaviness of Sabbath and the vocal strength and similarities to Robert Plant in his prime. This is especially so on “Red Blood (The River Flows)”, even in the instrumentation is reminiscent of a mid-70’s Zep tune. Apart from the obvious comparisons they are far from just a rip-off act. They combine their influences and create something all their own that is not entirely unique but it is fresh and enjoyable. It really grabs your attention from the moment you first hear it. The grooves, the riffs…everything is just enjoyable to the ears. The drums and bass create that heavy backbeat that just grooves along at a steady pace. A twin guitar attack over it plus those Plant-like vocals and you cannot miss.

Scorpion Child are a strong contender for ‘Best New Band of 2013’ and this self titled debut is one of the ‘Albums of The Year’. I definitely recommend checking this release out.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Kings Highway

2. Polygon Of Eyes 

3. The Secret Spot

4. Salvation Slave

5. Liquor

6. Antioch

7. In The Arms Of Ecstasy

8. Lover’s Leap

9. Red Blood (The River Flows)

Aryn Jonathan Black | vocals
Shaun Avants | bass
Christopher Jay Cowart | lead guitar
Shawn Paul Alvear | percussion
Tom Frank | guitar