Reinxeed – A New World

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: September 2013
Released: 2013, Lilljgren
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: JP

For our regular readers you may know that Reinxeed is one of my favourite new bands of the past few years. That are not all that new either, with seven full-length albums, they cannot be called ‘new’ any longer!

I’m going to try to keep this review short and sweet. I have written long reviews of the past four Reinxeed albums, they are in our database if you wish to seek them out. The band is back with album #7, A NEW WORLD. There have been a few changes since the last album that was released just last year, the drum throne has been taken by Alfred (of Golden Resurrection)and third guitarist Matthias has rejoined. Aside from those minor changes, the band has not changed style and that is good, I don’t want them to change because they are perfect the way they are.

A NEW WORLD is another blitzkrieg of blistering speed, many tracks of breathless rollercoaster ride of speed metal and not that lame 80’s retro stuff that called itself ‘Speed Metal’, this is the real deal, with relentless double kick and multi-note flourishes and solos that blur the mind. Having said that, this album is maybe just a tiny bit slower than the last one. Under all that speed is so much harmony and melody in the vocal lines, you can follow the soaring vocals of Tommy with ease. There does not seem to be a theme this time, unlike the last couple of albums, but the lyrics are still inspiring and uplifting. I especially enjoy the words to ‘Guitar Hero’ which takes a shot at people who stay in the basement, fantasizing and playing guitar based video-video games instead of learning to play the guitar for real. The song includes, of course, some killer soloing by Tommy.

A NEW WORLD is pure sweet, Metal; fast clean, powerful with immaculate production emphasizing fantastic songs that stick with you for ages. Reinxeed has perfected and claimed the sound that Sonata Arctica left behind all those years ago. Another triumph for Reinxeed.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Distant Horizon
2. Into the Darkness
3. The Journey Home
4. The Star
5. Final Destination
6. Northern Allstars
7. Chalice of Time
8. Curse and Damnation
9. Guitar Hero
10. A New World

Tommy Johansson Vocals, Guitar, Keyboard
Mattias Johansson Guitar
Calle Sundberg Guitar
Christopher Davidsson Bass
Alfred Fridhagen Drums