Anvil – Hope In Hell

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: June 2013
Released: 2013, The End Recordfs
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

HOPE IN HELL is Anvil’s 15th studio album and it is possibly their strongest effort yet. I know this gets said every time an artist releases a new album but it couldn’t ring truer here. This new album appears to be slightly more commercial than previous efforts but in no way possible are Anvil selling out.

From the beginning the title track starts you find yourself immersed in the music. It will draw you in and grab your attention. Then “Eat Your Words” follows it up with some insane drumming by Robb Reiner and your jaw drops and your mind is wondering what have I been missing? The over the top drumming may not continue for all 13 tracks but Robb’s playing is stellar throughout and very well placed in the mix. Lip’s vocals have never sounded so good as they do on this album. They are clear and more melodic, which may be partially due to the stronger songwriting. Anvil have written many great tunes over the years but this album is stronger from start to finish compared to previous albums. Every song is memorable and as with previous efforts there are light-minded lyrics. Anvil were never a band to make strong political messages and this tradition continues, complete with a mention of earlier times.

Lips and Robb pull no punches here and have released the best album of their career. HOPE IN HELL is all killer with zero filler! I can guarantee you that it will be one of 2013’s top Metal releases and will make many people’s lists.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Hope in Hell
02. Eat Your Words
03. Through with You
04. The Fight is Never Won
05. Pay the Toll
07.Call of Duty
08.Badass Rock n Roll
09.Time Shows No Mercy
10.Mankind Machine
11.Shut the Fuck Up

LP Bonus tracks
12.Hard Wired
13.Fire at Will

Lips – Vocals & Guitar
Robb Reiner – Drums
Sal Italiano – Bass