Spread the metal:

South America has provided quite a few important historical moments in rock n’ roll over the years. Case in point, Kiss performing their final concert in make-up before unmasking in 1983, Queen headlining the first-ever Rock in Rio Festival in 1985, the continent spawning one of the world’s most renowned metal bands, Sepultura, etc. And South America is also home to prog metal vets Angra, who have steadily issued challenging yet heavy albums on a regular basis since 1993.

And now comes an expanded edition of the fourth solo album overall from the band’s leader, guitarist Kiko Loureiro – ‘Sounds of Innocence’ – which drops Tuesday, June 18th. iTunes will release a special package, containing  the full album and track by track instructional videos – the first time this feature has ever been included on an iTunes album release. Additionally, a Kiko Spotify app “Soundrop” will be issued on the same release date. “‘Sounds of Innocence’ brings a balanced mix of Latin grooves with traditional shredding,” explains Kiko. “It comes at a more mature point of my career but still has first time excitement to it.”

Although the album is completely instrumental (which helped establish the guitarist’s career in Europe and Japan), according to Loureiro, it is an incredibly personal piece of music, that will succeed in establishing him in the US (a main goal of the musician, as it is the country that he now calls home). “All the reflective moments during the past year of my life are somehow represented in the ten songs from ‘Sounds of Innocence.'”

“These compositions depict my experiences in perfect form. They combine my past to what I am now – remembering the innocent times of a distant past but simultaneously being humble enough to keep innocence as an important value at present. It keeps me learning, exploring, developing and sharing. I love what I do, and this involves a unique feeling that music is something that unites us universally. Music doesn’t belong to me nor anyone. The more I create, the more innocent and free I feel to present and share my music.”

As a result, the tracks that comprise ‘Sounds of Innocence’ run the gamut of tranquility (“Awakening Prelude,” “A Perfect Rhyme”) to over-the-top shredfests (“Conflicted,” “El Guajiro”), and some tracks that lay somewhere in between (“Ray of Life”). And as its creator explains, there is a perfectly good reason for an album that resembles a hard rock rollercoaster ride. “‘Sounds of Innocence’ is my inner voice, whispering constantly, sounds and melodies, textures and harmonies.”

In addition to the release of the expanded version of ‘Sounds of Innocence,’ Kiko will be recording a live DVD in Brazil (on June 14th), is booked as a counselor at The YES Rock and Roll Fantasy Camp (from July 14th – 17th in Las Vegas), while a nationwide clinic tour begins in August (date to be announced). Additionally, Kiko will be scheduling a promo tour for the week of June 24th – 28th (covering the US northeast) and the week of July 8th – 12th (covering the west coast).

For admirers of modern day prog metal and impressive six-string work, ‘Sounds of Innocence’ is a must-hear.

‘Sounds of Innocence’ Track List:
1  Awakening Prelude

2  Gray Stone Gateway

3  Conflicted

4  Reflective

5  El Guajiro

6  Ray of Life

7  The Hymn

8  Mãe D’Água

9  Twisted Horizon

10 A Perfect Rhyme



About EvilG 11588 Articles
Owner of Metal-Rules.com