Voices – From The Human Forest Create A Fuge Of Imaginary Rain

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: March 2013
Released: 2013, Candlelight Records
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Metal-Rules.com UK Team

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!! This is all I have to say about this album! The end.
Not really, I will say more…

Voices is the new UK Black Metal project featuring Akercocke/My Dying Bride drummer ‘David Gray’ along with other Akercocke members ‘Peter Benjamin’ and ‘Sam Loynes’ and only formed in 2011. After sorting out a deal with Candlelight records the bands debut album was recently recorded at Legacy Studios, located in Old Street, in the heart of London.

This album starts off with a kick and I loved the aggressive intro to the first track, but it wasn’t long until I heard some clean vocals in this album, which I don’t really like with Black Metal, but there is so much brutality it balances out the album well, keeping it up to date and modern but still the darkness of Black Metal.

I’m sure old skool black metal fans will have a mixed opinion on this release as with this genre ‘modern’ isn’t a good thing and there are strong death metal elements to it too, but the production and sound are so good all the tracks offer something different, and I can’t deny that I did love this album.

The band stated they wanted to create a deep brand of cold and confronting music, part hypnotic yet often disturbing, focusing from an avant-garde take upon black metal, whilst always striving to explore a wide musical spectrum, and I feel they have done this well.

They quote:
\”We have some immense plans for future creativity, ruling out no potential musical style or influence. We hope to never be bound by convention and thus remaining truly extreme through this unique and open-minded disposition.\”

The album is just under an hour long and is intense and brutal throughout with 360bpm blasts beats with impressive guitar riffs and melodies, with some other surprises thrown in.
There is also a mixture of vocal ranges in there which articulate the insanity of despair, contrasted with ethereal glimpses of melancholic beauty, with some black metal screaming in the back ground for good measure!

These guys have certainly taken things into a new direction and have an individual take on this genre of extreme metal, with the vocal concept based on being outside of conventional points of view and having a certain disconnect with any form of human emotions.

I feel this is an album that needs to be heard, for Black & extreme Death Metal fans.
Truly impressive.

Review by Jo Blackened


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Dnepropetrovsk
2. Eyes Become Black
3. Fragmented Illustrations Of Anger
4. Unawareness Of Human Emotion
5. Sexual Isolation
6. This Too Shall Pass
7. Everything You Believe In Is Wrong
8. Creating The Museum Of Rape
9. Endless

David Gray – Drums
Peter Benjamin – Bass, Guitars
Sam Loynes – Keyboards