ATTACKER Signs with Metal on Metal. “Giants of Canaan” album details revealed

Spread the metal:

Metal on Metal Records announced the signing of the US power/heavy metal veterans ATTACKER and the release of their new album “Giants of Canaan”.

Mike Sabatini, the band’s drummer and founder, commented: “I just wanted to say on behalf of the band and myself, that we are thrilled to be working with Metal On Metal Records! Jowita and Simone do a fantastic first class job with their releases (no cheap packaging!) and are truly passionate about what they do. That in itself is very important to us, we didn’t want to just sign with anyone. We have had a great working relationship with Jowita for several years now with her doing the cover art for our last 2 releases, “The Unknown” and “Standing the Test of Time”, both awesome artworks. We look forward to nothing but great things to come with our new partners… See you on the road!!!”

Jowita Kaminska-Peruzzi, Metal on Metal Records CEO, added: “The first time I met the band was at my first Keep It True festival visit in 2004. Taking photos was just the start – then I worked for them on the cover arts and saw them live four more times. I had been kept updated on the vocalists search situation and I was really happy to hear they eventually got the great Bobby “Leather Lungs” Lucas – he is definitely a more than worthy successor to Bob Mitchell! This year marks the 30th anniversary of Attacker but in spite of their age they have more stamina than many young bands! It’s a great honor for us to be working with this legendary act of which we’ve been big fans for many, many years, but there’s also the friendship factor that makes things just perfect.”

“Giants of Canaan”, the 5th album of ATTACKER, will be released by Metal on Metal Records on February 2nd, at the Metal Assault festival where the band will perform alongside other legendary traditional metal acts like MANILLA ROAD, BROCAS HELM and RAVEN, as well as their label-mates SKELATOR. Visitors of the festival will have the chance to purchase the CD directly from the label or the band there.

“Giants of Canaan” was recorded at Katalomi Studios in New Jersey, engineered and mixed by Patrick “Taps” Guden and drummer Michael Sabatini, and mastered by the renown engineer Alan Douches at West West Side Music in New York. The new album contains pure classic heavy/power metal ATTACKER has been known for since years.

Three songs off the album, “The Hammer”, “Curse the Light” and “Black Winds Calling” are available for streaming from Metal on Metal Records website. And a short promo clip featuring a fragment of the title track can be watched on YouTube.

The track listing for “Giants of Canaan” is as follows:

  1. As They Descend
  2. Giants of Canaan
  3. Trapped in Black
  4. The Hammer
  5. Washed in Blood
  6. Sands of Time
  7. Curse the Light
  8. Black Winds Calling
  9. Steel Vengeance
  10. Born into Battle
  11. The Glen of the Ghost

The album art was painted by Jowita Kaminska-Peruzzi (who’s also the author of the previous covers of Attacker, Exodus, Witchburner, Forsaken, Meliah Rage, Manilla Road, Deceased, Arkham Witch and others). More details about “Giants of Canaan” and high-res cover image can be found on the page of this release.

ATTACKER “Giants of Canaan” CD can be pre-ordered with a discount from Metal on Metal Records website until February 2nd, while the digital download (in lossless formats) can be bought from the Bandcamp page.

ATTACKER was formed in 1983 in New Jersey and had their debut album “Battle at Helm’s Deep” released on Metal Blade Records in 1985. After the sophomore album “The Second Coming” the band split up in 1989. They came back to the scene 12 years later, in 2001. During that decade 2 full-length albums and a best-of compilation were released. After some hiatus the band recruited a new singer Bobby “Leather Lungs” Lucas (known from SEVEN WITCHES, OVERLORDE and MORBID SIN) and bassist Jon Hanemann, who replaced Lou Ciarlo in April 2012. With those two new musicians, the founding members Mike Sabatini (drums) and Pat Marinelli (guitars), as well as Mike Benetatos (guitars) who’s been in the band since the reunion, ATTACKER recorded their 5th album “Giants of Canaan”.

As mentioned above, the release of “Giants of Canaan” will coincide with ATTACKER‘s appearance at the Metal Assault III festival in Würzburg, Germany, where they will share the stage with MANILLA ROAD, BROCAS HELM, RAVEN, JUTTA WEINHOLD BAND, SKELATOR and others, followed by the headlining show at the Screaming for Metal festival in Madrid, Spain the next night. The band has more shows in the plans, including Childhood Heroes festival in March in New York (with HELSTAR, HERETIC, VIKING and WRATH), Warriors of Metal VI festival in June in Ohio (with MELIAH RAGE, FLOTSAM AND JETSAM, STEEL ASSASSIN, TWISTED TOWER DIRE and many others), as well as a 2-week European tour in September including Ages of Metal festival in Belgium (with DIAMOND HEAD, TYGERS OF PAN TANG and others t.b.a.).

About EvilG 11698 Articles
Owner of