VOIVOD premieres ‘Target Earth’ artwork, reveals album details

Spread the metal:

Canadian progressive metal pioneers VOIVOD have premiered the artwork for their 13th studio album, Target Earth, on the band’s official Facebook page.


The original art was once again drawn by drummer Away (Michel Langevin) and features color schemes from each one of the band’s’ previous albums.


Due out January 21st in Europe and January 22nd in North America, Target Earth was recorded at producer Pierre Rémillard’s Wild Studios in Quebec and mixed by Sanford Parker (PELICAN, NACHTMYSTIUM). The album will be available as a CD, gatefold double vinyl and a limited edition deluxe box set (details on that to be announced soon).


The album brings back original bass player, Blacky (Jean Yves Thériault), marking his first recordings with the band since 1991’s Angel Rat. It’s also the first to feature guitarist, Chewy (Dan Mongrain), who cut his teeth playing guitar to the late Denis D’Amour’s riffs and thus has matched his style to a tee. VOIVOD, as a full group, hadn’t sat down to write a record together since 2003’s self-titled album. The end result harkens back to the group’s late 80s output and after 30 years together as a band, one of their best yet.


The official track-listing for Target Earth can be seen below.

  1. Target Earth
  2. Kluskap O’Kom
  3. Empathy for the Enemy
  4. Mechanical Mind
  5. Warchaic
  6. Resistance
  7. Kaleidos
  8. Corps Étranger
  9. Artefact
  10. Defiance

To hear the album’s first single, “Mechanical Mind,” please click here.


VOIVOD live 2012
10/26–La Riviera–Madrid, Spain **with ARCH ENEMY**
10/27–Razzmatazz 2–Barcelona, Spain **with ARCH ENEMY**
10/30–MILK Club–Moscow, Russia
10/31–Nosturi–Helsinki, Finland

11/17–Fox Theater–Oakland, CA **with NEUROSIS, YOB**


VOIVOD online:




About EvilG 11330 Articles
Owner of Metal-Rules.com