Aeurtum – The Fall

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: October 2012
Released: 2012, Self Released
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

This year saw the release of the debut album from Birmingham UK based metallers Aeurtum. The band formed in 2010 as a 2-man project and in 2011 released their demo ‘Within This Enervation’, but soon after the band split. Jon Collins has now released the album himself and does all the vocals, guitars, bass, keys and programming, which is really impressive.

The album is based on a man\’s fall from grace, humanities decline both morally and economically, and the end of the world, also going into death or \’the end of life\’, which follows a first person view of someone who has lost everything and is on a quest for the meaning of life, going into the emotions of regret, hate, worthlessness, betrayal and sorrow and the worst traits to being human.

I really wanted to like this album but I just found I couldn’t get into really, which surprised me considering it’s genre and concept. I\’m not sure how I felt about the Death metal vocals over the black metal vocals with talking sounding very similar to Cradle of Filth, it just didn’t seem to work for me. I personally love black metal so I think keeping in this style would’ve worked better for me.

It just seemed to lack atmosphere and is just not brutal enough to grab my attention, as well as simple and repetitive riffs throughout and non impressive growls. The album did pick up towards the end and seemed to have a lot more energy, but it just wasn\’t enough.

The album has some great artwork and photography inside, and I love the concept, but I found the vocals became boring to listen to after awhile and I began to grow tired of the album. It’s not the greatest production but still a great effort considering it’s all done by one guy!

It’s still an impressive album considering it came from one person and I hope there is a future for Aeurtum, but for me personally this album is not for me.

Review by Jo Blackened


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1….And so, It Begins
2. Parity
3. Deliverance
4. Dust In The Sunlight
5. Uttered
6. How The Silence Wept
7. A Moment To Breathe
8. Dissolved In Emerald Waves

Jon Collins – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keys, Drum Programming.


About UK Team

View all posts by UK Team →