SOILWORK Announces New Guitarist

Spread the metal:

Swedish melodic metallers SOILWORK have announced the addition of guitarist David Andersson (NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA) to the group’s ranks.


“We’re super-stoked to have David with us,” said SOILWORK vocalist Björn “Speed” Strid. “He’s a blast to be around and a kick-ass guitarist. Plus, we’ve known him for so many years, from all the touring together, we just know he’s a perfect fit for us.”


Andersson has toured, on and off, with SOILWORK since 2006, and most recently during the 2011 festival season in support of the band’s acclaimed eighth album, “The Panic Broadcast”.


Regarding the recently announced split with founding SOILWORK guitarist Peter Wichers, who first left the band in 2005 only to return four years later, Speed commented, “We just had to do this. It’s in the best interest of both him and us. SOILWORK was born to be out there, tearing up the stage. Peter’s been unable to commit to the kind of touring we need to do and it’s time for us to move on. David’s played with us for so long, he’s really grown into the band. It feels natural, like a seamless transition. We’re thankful for everything Peter has contributed to SOILWORK over the years and we sincerely wish him the best.”


SOILWORK is currently in the process of writing music for its ninth album, “The Living Infinite”. “We’re working our asses off to put this record together,” said Strid. “It’s gonna be fantastic, the songs and ideas are flowing like crazy! As far as the musical direction goes, there’s tons of crushing, high energy, in-your-face metal. Trust me, we’re not about to go mellow anytime soon!”


Wichers originally quit SOILWORK in late 2005 and was replaced by Daniel Antonsson (DARK TRANQUILLITY, DIMENSION ZERO).


Peter played on every SOILWORK album with the exception of 2007’s “Sworn To A Great Divide”.


SOILWORK’s latest album, “The Panic Broadcast”, was released in Europe on July 2, 2010 and in North America on July 13, 2010 via Nuclear Blast Records.


“The Panic Broadcast” was SOILWORK’s studio debut with axeman Sylvain Coudret, who joined in 2008.

About EvilG 11501 Articles
Owner of