Norway’s JORN to Release New Album “Bring Heavy Rock to the Land” on June 5, 2012

Spread the metal:

Legendary Metal Vocalist Explores “A Variety of Musical Landscapes” on Highly Anticipated New LP

Norwegian powerhouse vocalist Jorn Lande‘s (MASTERPLAN, AVANTASIA) JORN will release its long awaited new album Bring Heavy Rock To The Land in North America on June 5 via Frontiers Records.  Produced by Tommy Hansen (Helloween, Steeler) at Denmark’s Jailhouse Studios, the album delivers 11 tracks of seriously strong heavy music “guaranteed to get your adrenaline going,” with a riveting sound that has solid roots in classic hard rock / heavy metal music, such as Dio, Black Sabbath, Rainbow and Whitesnake.

JORN “Bring Heavy Rock to the Land”

The record’s title track “Bring Heavy Rock to the Land” will be released as a single worldwide on May 14.  A video for the song is in the works and will be directed by Thomas Tjader (In Flames).  “The title track was a natural choice for the lead track,” JORN explains. “Sometimes a song’s got the magic and you just know it.  “Bring Heavy Rock To The Land” is such a song and regardless of how the whole album is evaluated by critics, I feel that this song will live on and become an essential Jorn classic!”  The album also contains an invigorating cover of the Christopher Cross classic “Ride Like the Wind“, reworked in electric JORN fashion.  “I thought “Ride Like The Wind” would be a good song to do Jorn style,” the vocalist continues.  “Saxon also released a version of this song in the 80’s, and the arrangement we made ended up beeing a mix between the original version and Saxon’s.  It’s just a fun song to sing and play”.

Jorn Lande‘s strong and diverse voice and monster songwriting skills have now become legendary in the Heavy Metal and Hard Rock world.  In a career spanning nearly 20 years and with over two million albums sold, Lande has been the featured voice on over 30 releases as frontman for Millennium, Ark and Masterplan and was recently featured on spectacular projects such as Tobias Sammet’s “Avantasia” and Ayreon.  In May, 2010 an original JORN song and music video honoring legendary heavy metal singer Ronnie James Dio (who had died of stomach cancer just five days before) called “Song for Ronnie James” was released in tribute. Soon after, it was announced that Jørn (along with former Deep Purple vocalist Glenn Hughes) would join Black Sabbath / Heaven & Hell members Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Vinny Appice to perform a final Heaven & Hell set in tribute to Dio at the High Voltage Festival on July 24, 2010 (see footage HERE).  All of the proceeds from the event went towards the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund.

The track listing for JORN‘s Bring Heavy Rock To The Land is as follows:

          1.) My Road
          2.) Bring Heavy Rock To The Land
          3.) A Thousand Cuts
          4.) Ride Like The Wind
          5.) Chains Around You
          6.) The World I See
          7.) Time To Be King
          8.) Ride To The Guns
          9.) Black Morning
         10.) I Came To Rock
         11.) Live And Let Fly (bonus track)

In addition to vocalist Jorn Lande, JORN also features Nic Angileri (bass), Willy Bendiksen (drums) and guitarists Jimmy Iversen and Tore Moren.

About EvilG 11421 Articles
Owner of