Soul Sacrifice – Carpe Mortem

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2012
Released: 2011, Massacre Records
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Asking me to name my favourite Turkish bands of all time is a bit like asking me to hum my way through Rick Astley’s back catalogue whilst dancing a little jig – pointless and embarrassing for all involved. That’s not to fault Turkey’s local music scene, which I’m sure is just as vibrant as the rest, it’s just very little of that has filtered back this way.

Therefore, making a big song and dance are metallers Soul Sacrifice with their latest release – Carpe Mortem. With the band’s debut album Stranded Hate unavailable at present due to it being released by a domestic record company that has since gone the way of most X-Factor winners, for many Carpe Mortem is Soul Sacrifice’s grand entrance.

The almost-orchestral reverence of opening snippet ‘Requiem’ is swiftly forgotten by hot-on-its-heels ‘Bullet Proof’. Although described as a death metal band, Soul Sacrifice certainly forgo purely tonsil-scraping growls for a fair helping of something more-metalcore at times. They’re probably not one for the purists but most likely can strike some common ground with fans of acts like In Flames.

With most of the four members having done stints in other bands over their lifetime, Soul Sacrifice are certainly on top of their musical game, and the band’s massive itinerary of clocked up hours playing across Turkey has served as a solid platform for cracking a wider audience. Apparently the band makes use of original Turkish melodies and native snippets in its music, but unfortunately there wasn’t a great sense of this coming through in Carpe Mortem.

From end to end though, title track ‘Carpe Mortem’ is an oddity. Beginning with beeps reminiscent to those of a life support machine, and progressing through occasionally Clanger-esque whistles, this instrumental short is a bit of a stumbling block in the album’s flow. Luckily it’s a one off rumble in a belly-filling three course menu of drum blasts, melodic tunes, and varied vocals.

Putting your soul on the line? Probably not. But a bit of your time and attention? It may well be time that you get out a map and draw a ring around Turkey, because back-dated credit is certainly due.

Review by Kirsty Birkett-Stubbs


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Requiem
2. Bullet Proof
3. Comatose
4. OLB
5. Keske
6. Fly Forever
7. Killing For Society
8. Torture My Soul
9. Carpe Mortem
10. Sarcastic Existence
11. Exile

Feyzi Ocak – guitars
Makism Kirikoğlu – guitars
Onur Akça – drums
“-zgür “-zkan – vocals/bass