Liberteer – Better To Die On Your Feet Than Live On Your Knees

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2012
Released: 2012, Relapse Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Well what an interesting album this is! Liberteer are from California. and my first initial thought was ‘this is gonna be another typical grindcore/extreme death metal band’ but from the first track you hear other elements stuffed in there…such as; Melodic pagan/folk sounds, and is that a banjo I can hear?… Erm ok then!

It is also quite shocking to know that there is only one member Matthew Widener, who does all vocals/instruments which is pretty damn impressive, clearly showing off all this talents here! It no doubt this is a ferocious and totally unique death/grindcore direction, making it an interesting album. With 17 tracks I have to say I did nearly lose interest but the pagan/folk and melodic aspects kept me entertained and rather amuses at times. This is a great creation of Matthew Widener (Cretin, Citizen) which merges scathing anarcho-grind with triumphant passages and stirring riffs, with aggressive lyrics that are nothing less than total anarchy. The lyrics are very politically motivated and clearly having the message of ‘Burn the system down!’ I am still quite confused over this album…but I have to say I did really enjoy it, with every track bringing something different. Although I’m not entirely sure if all these elements of metal merge well together, but sometimes music is like cooking, you just need to chuck in all the ingredients that you love and hope it will turn out for the best!

I expect to see mixed opinions on this release but if you like your metal aggressive, raw with a side salad of melodic folk then go for it…even if you don’t like this genre it’s worth a listen due to the fact it’s just so different!

Review by: Jo Blackened


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. The Falcon Cannot Hear the Falconer
2. Build No System
3. Without Blazon (Is the Flag I Hold Up and Do Not Wag)
4. We Are Not Afraid of Ruins
5. Class War Never Meant More Than It Does Now
6. Rise Like Lions After Slumber
7. That Which Is Not Given But Taken
8. Better to Die on Your Feet Than Live on Your Knees
9. Usurious Epitaph
10. Revolution\’s Wick Burning Quick
11. 99 To 1
12. Sweat for Blood
13. Barbarians at the Gate
14. When We Can\’t Dream Any Longer
15. It Is the Secret Curse of Power That It Becomes Fatal
16. I Am Spartacus
17. Feast of Industry

Matthew Widener – All vocals/Instruments