Lacuna Coil – Dark Adrenaline

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2012
Released: 2012, Century Media
Rating: 5.0/5
Reviewer: Celtic Bob

It was back in 2006 that I first became aware of Lacuna Coil with their KARMACODE album. After a couple of spins I still couldn’t get into it. Fast forward to 2009 and I get a copy of SHALLOW LIFE. I wasn’t to anxious to listen to it but as soon as I did it hit me like a freight train. This was a damn fine album and it became my personal #1 album of the year. Now here we are in 2012 and their new album: DARK ADRENALINE is finally released.

I was already quite familiar with the album’s first single “Trip The Darkness” that was released a few weeks prior. A great song that just increased my anticipation for the new album. DARK ADRENALINE is slightly heavier than SHALLOW LIFE was and a more consistent album. The band has found themselves musically with this album. There is a real flow to it and the next logical progression from a musical stance. They have incorporated the heavier aspects of their music and added the melodies and songwriting of the last album to create one amazing album. The vocals of Cristina and Andrea have never sounded so good. Their voices work very well together and suit the music perfectly. The band is tight, and have a real good sound and mix. Noting is buried or muddled in production. A great sounding disc.

There are 12 songs on DARK ADRENALINE and all of them are killer.There is no filler on here at all. Even the cover of R.E.M.’s “Losing My Religion” is fantastic and I am not usually one for cover songs. They kicked the song up a notch and gave it that boost it needed. It hasn’t been changed too drastically but enough to give it that little boost that was lacking in the original version.

DARK ADRENALINE is the album that sets the standard to which all other new releases will be compared to. Lacuna Coil have outdone themselves with this album. The ‘Album’ of the year and 2012 is just beginning. A heavy dose of DARK ADRENALINE is what your system needs.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. \”Trip the Darkness\” 3:12
2. \”Against You\” 3:51
3. \”Kill the Light\” 3:26
4. \”Give Me Something More\” 3:56
5. \”Upsidedown\” 3:04
6. \”End of Time\” 3:53
7. \”I Don\’t Believe in Tomorrow\” 4:12
8. \”Intoxicated\” 3:48
9. \”The Army Inside\” 3:12
10. \”Losing My Religion\” 3:42
11. \”Fire\” 2:55
12. \”My Spirit\” 5:50

* Cristina Scabbia “” vocals, primary lyricist
* Andrea Ferro “” vocals
* Cristiano \”Pizza\” Migliore “” guitar
* Marco \”Maus\” Biazzi “” guitar
* Marco Coti Zelati “” bass guitar, keyboards, primary composer
* Cristiano \”Criz\” Mozzati “” drums, percussion