Indian – Guiltless

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2012
Released: 2011, Relapse Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Chicago, Illinois based band Indian have released their third full-length album and first for Relapse Records.

From the beginning of the first track I instantly loved this band. With their unique take on their Doom style tracks with down-tempos, colossal riffs and pounding drums and the dark blackened tone of the vocals; which are quite high and scream-like throughout, which actually works giving it a ‘black metal’ feel, with the album also having a psychedelic tone to it. I found this album really interesting and something I had not heard for a while, with the tracks being broken up the with acoustic intros and interesting outtakes, with some tracks starting so furiously each track is individual and is an album you can lose yourself in taking you on an emotional journey.

I don’t think this album will appeal to every metal fan, but if you like your metal black, doomy/sludgey and different, then you should definitely check out this band. I personally loved this album.

Review by Jo Blackened


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. No Grace
2. The Fate Before Fate
3. Guiltless
4. Guilty
5. The End Of Truth
6. Supplicants
7. Benality

Dylan O\’Toole, gtr/vox
Will Lindsay, gtr/vox
Ron DeFries, bass
Bill Bumgardner, drums
Sean Patton, noise