Blasphemist – Shadowtorned World

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: February 2012
Released: 2011, Noisehead Records
Rating: 1.5/5
Reviewer: UK Team

Blasphemist are apparently one of the youngest metal bands in Austria with the oldest member being only 23 years old. They have just released their official debut album ‘Shadowtorned World’, which seems to be getting some good attention especially as they are writing their own melodic death metal tracks so I was intrigued to see what this album would have to offer, as they are said to take influences from bands such as In Flames etc with their lyrics focusing on their own personal experiences.

The album was recorded in the summer of 2011 and produced by Mario Jezik but despite this ‘modern take’ on metal I have to say this album really didn’t impress me at all. The music is…pretty good…and there are some heavy aspects of this album that I did like, with good drumming and great guitar playing from both Alexander Lackner and Michael Iber with some solid bass in there too, but that is the only highlight of this album. Every song sounded the same and I hated the duel vocals as I didn’t think it went well at all! Personally I felt there was nothing original with this band with a lot of repetitive sounds throughout the album which made me lose interest quickly. It’s still a great effort from the guys considering their age, but to be honest, I’ve heard a lot better from a lot younger…this really isn’t an album for me.

I think ‘Shadowtorned World’ would’ve been a great melodic death metal album if they had kept the hardcore/metalcore influences out of it and kept it to one vocalist, making the album more aggressive and keeping to death metal style only.

Review by Jo Blackened


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Equinox
2. Silent Shore
3. Constellations
4. Red To The Sky 5. Painters And Poets
6. Tides Equal Rebellion
7. Pervading
8. Shadowtorned World
9. These Darkened Signs
10. Where No One Stood Before

Stefan Rindler – Vocals
Moritz Pollinger – Vocals
Alexander Lackner – Guitar
Michael Iber – Guitar
Lukas Rappitsch – Bass Guitar
Florian Plochel – Drums