Canadian Folk Metallers Scythia Post Free Download “Voice of The Sword” From Upcoming Album “…Of Exile”

Spread the metal:

Vancouver’s folk metal clan Scythia whom have just returned from their recent “Summer Siege” tour have announced they will sharing with fans their latest track “Voice of The Sword” for free download from their upcoming album “…Of Exile” set to be released September 23rd.

Free download link for “Voice of The Sword” available via their youtube stream of the track (and below) –

“…Of Exile” is a story album that that tells the tale of a Scythian king deceived by those closest to him and his journey to reclaim his throne with his possessed sword and remaining loyal knights. Forging musical influences from folk and prog metal along with classical complements from instruments such as the Oboe of Death, cello and trumpet, “…Of Exile” takes the listener on a musical adventure to the land of Scythia. The record was produced and mixed by Shaun Thingvold who has engineered on albums with (Strapping Young Lad, Zimmer’s Hole, Lamb of God, Fear Factory).

In additional news, Scythia will be sharing the stage on Monday, September 5th in Vancouver, BC at the Rickshaw Theatre with Norwegian black metal bands Vreid and Kampfar plus Montreal’s Necronomicon as part of “The Black Path of North America” tour.

Summer Siege Tour Video Pt. 2 –

“… Of Exile Teaser Video –

Free Download – For The King –

Track Listing:

1. Prelude
2. Spirit of the Quest
3. Sleeping Village
4. Forgotten Forest
5. Fallen King
6. Voice of the Sword
7. For the King
8. Fortress
9. Dies Irae II
10. Hobarth’s Inn



Formed in the latter half of 2008, Scythia is a five piece band that combines haunting folk melodies (emphasized by keyboards and oboe) with the driving force of modern progressive metal to form a raw and powerful sound that is their own. Scythia is not your older brother’s metal band. Unless that band had an oboe of death, echoes of thunder, and a knack for writing folk metal tunes.

So what is Scythia?

Taking its name from vocalist/guitarist Dave Khan’s infatuation with a painting of Nordic/Russian warriors riding bears while brandishing swords, Scythia not only “gives the painting musical significance,” but it is also “the name of an ancient empire spanning from the Caucasus through Russia, and even into eastern Scandinavia. The melodies used in our music have a very ancient, sometimes medieval sound, so I wanted to attribute them to an ancient civilization,” says Khan.

In 2010, Scythia released its debut, “…Of War” (originally with violin) which was produced by Shaun Thingvold who has engineered on projects with SYL, Fear Factory, Darkest Hour and many more. Now, following some line-up changes, Scythia will be releasing its second album “…Of Exile”, again produced by Shaun Thingvold September 23, 2011.

About EvilG 11698 Articles
Owner of