Iron Fire – Metalmorphosized

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: September 2011
Released: 2010, Napalm Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Theis Rytoft

Danish Iron Fire has had a turbulent career with many releases under their belt and their latest is METALMORPHOSIZED. This release features former band members as well as the guys from the existing band today. In total it adds up to a really good musical experience!

“Reborn to Darkness” is the first track and it really kicks things off! A really fast progressing and bombastic track where the riffs sound good and the drums are really appealing: especially during the chorus. The vocal and backing vocals are really diverse, shifting between high-pitching and lower levels. This adds another dimension to the already strong melody of the song. The album continues with a lot of power metal with symphonic elements such as in another strong track, “Back In The Fire”, which simply flows with good melodious and instrumental aspects.

The album also features a ballad portrayed by “Crossroad” and is a duet between a female singer and Martin Steene. This is new territory for Iron Fire but it works well.

METALMORPHOSIZED is a very consistent album with a lot of diversity in and throughout the songs. However, it can feel a tedious at times due to their power metal (mostly mid-paced) style looking across the whole album. Digesting each song separately doesn’t quite leave me with this impression though as they all, more or less, contain much variation.

“Phantom Symphony” is very unlike all the previous tracks as it features 9 ½ minutes of a much more blended power, heavy and symphonic metal track. It is not an overly exciting song, however stable, but closes METALMORPHOSIZED off in a decent way.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Reborn To Darkness 5:08
02. Nightmare 3:48
03. Still Alive 5:04
04. Back In The Fire 3:30
05. The Underworld 6:30
06. Crossroad 4:28
07. Riding Through Hell 3:17
08. Left For Dead 4:11
09. The Graveyard 3:43
10. My Awakening 4:25
11. Drowning In Blood 3:57
12. Phantom Symphony 9:41

Martin Steene – Vocals
Kirk Backarach – Guitar
Martin Lund – Bass
Fritz Wagner – Drums