Rotten Sound – Napalm

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: June 2010
Released: 2010, Relapse Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Aaron Yurkiewicz

What do you get when one phenomenal Grindcore band covers another phenomenal Grindcore band? You get Rotten Sound’s new EP, NAPALM. Following up 2008’s monumental CYCLES, the Finnish troupe have returned with 3 new grind-tastic tunes and 3 Napalm Death covers, hence the title NAPALM. Though the band has long followed the tradition of grind that ND laid much of the groundwork for, (and in the process have developed quite the reputation of their own), this is the first recorded example of the band paying homage to the godfathers of the genre.

The 3 new tracks are exactly what you’ve come to expect from Rotten Sound; short bursts of controlled chaos espousing on such topics as death, societal ills, etc. As for the ND covers, the band blitzes through faithful renditions of “The Kill” and “Missing Link,” while making “Suffer the Children” entirely their own. Performing the song the way it may have appeared on either SCUM or FETO, it comes off more caustic and raw than the original itself.

The packaging boasts a cover paying homage to the early ND album artwork, which adds a nice touch of sincerity to the affair. Additionally, if you pick up the actual CD version of the album, you get a bonus DVD featuring a live performance from the Obscene Extreme festival. Rotten Sound rarely disappoint on stage, so getting a full live set in addition to the EP is an incentive you shouldn’t pass up. And for a retail price in the ball park of $10 through the Relapse Records site, you’d be a fool if you did. If you’re not yet familiar with Rotten Sound’s brand of rapid fire grind, NAPALM is a great introduction.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Mindkill
2. Dead Remains
3. Brainload
4. The Kill
5. Missing Link
6. Suffer the Children

Keijo Niinimaa-Vocals
Mika Aalto-Guitars
Sami Latva-Drums
Kristian Toivainen-Bass