Suicide City – Frenzy

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December 2009
Released: 2009, The End Records
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Suicide City, formed in 2005, is the brainchild of former Biohazard guitarist Billy Graziadei and Groovenics vocalist Karl Bernholtz. As you might guess, one of those bands is decidedly NOT metal (although some would make a case for both bands). Rounded out by former Kittie and Groovenics members, you’re correct if this leads you to the conclusion that Suicide City are…somewhat less than metal. Normally, this would be the part of the review where I go off on an expletive-filled rant about non-metal bands sending their music to METAL-Rules. I’m not going to do that this one time however, because I actually have some respect for the band’s label – The End Records. So, if you’re curious please read on. If not, no one blames you – feel free to move on to the next review.

Suicide City’s music is basically what passes for “punk” music these days, with a definite dash of emo effeminacy. Do not expect any of the angry hip-hop hardcore of Biohazard within FRENZY. Vocalist Karl Bernholtz clearly sings throughout, alternating between a punk-infused shout and emo-girly singing voice. Musically, most of the album sits firmly in the pop-punk side of things although there are random dashes of electronica strewn throughout as well (ex. “Chemical Fight”, “Spanish Fly”, and joke song “She Waits in a European Nightclub”). None of this is really my bag, but there are some catchy songs offered. The back to back fun of “The Best Way” and “Painted Horse” is solid, as is “Cutter”.

Sadly, the rest of the album is so much pop-punk dross. The second half of the album is especially weak, as the band descends into monotonous, unnecessarily long songs that drag on and on. I’m actually surprised that The End signed Suicide City; their musical standard is typically much higher. Skip FRENZY, it’s not metal and it’s not particularly good either.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1) First Cut
2) Cutter
3) Sex and Dying
4) The Only Track Not About Sex Or Dying
5) The Best Way
6) Painted Horse
7) Chemical Fight
8) Burn
9) Undone
10) Spanish Fly
11) She Waits
12) She Waits In A European Nightclub
13) Start the Show
14) Not My Year
15) Lost Years

Billy Graziadei: Guitars, Vocals
Karl Bernholtz: Vocals
Danny Lamagna: Drums
Jennifer Aroyo: Bass
AJ Marchetta: Guitars