Incoming Cerebral Overdrive – Controverso

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December 2009
Released: 2009, Supernatural Cat
Rating: 1.5/5
Reviewer: Erich

Incoming Cerebral Overdrive are just what the world needs, another mathcore/metalcore band this time hailing from Italy, a country known for some quality metal bands. The band formed in 2002 and released their debut album CONTROVERSIAL HEART in 2008 which received some critical appreciation but made little impact on the metal community at large. The second album, CONTREVERSO, was released in 2009 displaying a penchant for mathematical formulas, raw throat screams, and chaotic, mostly atonal riffs.

Inevitably, almost all comparisons point to Dillinger Escape Plan and so fans of that band should enjoy CONTREVERSO. While there is absolutely no variety in the Samuel Storai’s vocals, which instantaneously become monotonous, the bands chops are abundantly clear. Occasionally, they will go into show-off mode, changing riffs and speeds far too regularly to be called songs, but on songs like “Scientific”, the band is not afraid to ride a good riff for a while. “Magic” slows things down a bit, with a lot of Korn-like guitar noises thrown in the mix. The grand result however, is album characterized by noise, screams, and an absence of melody, harmony, or song craft. Not until the final track, “There”, does the band actually venture away from the brutal and relentless chaos to a more melodic and structured song. More songs like this will go a long way towards more listenable album in the future.

CONTROVERSO is an album that we have all heard before, hundreds of times actually, and doomed to repeat the same tired metalcore style that wore out its welcome long ago. Fans of math metal, hardcore, and metalcore should seek this out and find plenty to appreciate. For the rest of us, we are left to wonder what reason these bands have to exist and when they will quit sprouting like poisonous spores across the world.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Reflections
2. Oxygen
3. Controversial
4. Science
5. Magic
6. Sound
7. Colours
8. There

Samuele Storai:Vocals
Stefano Tocci:Guitar/Synth
Maurizio Tuci:Guitar
Alessio Corsini:Bass
Filippo Baldi:Drums