Death Angel – Sonic German Beatdown-Live In Germany (DVD)

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: November 2009
Released: 2009, Nuclear Blast
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: JP


Two live concerts in Germany in 2007.

Death Angel have finally officially released a DVD, the first in their career. Unfortunately, it wasn’t really worth the wait. The awkward title, too close to Dragonforce’s last studio platter, says it all, two concerts shot in Germany.

The first concert is an uninspired, 15 cut, outdoor performance from the rainy 2007 Rock Hard Festival. The second is a sweaty club gig from 2008 with 17 songs. There are about seven songs that are performed at each show, just enough to avoid the two concerts being redundant. Both concerts have decent production, good sound and are accented by a number of camera angles. With so much young competition with any number of young thrash bands active these, Death Angel look and sound a little tired.

The package is rounded out by two videos, “Thicker Than Blood” and the uncensored version of “Dethroned”, which wasn’t really all that explicit or extreme to begin with. The whole exercise seems a little anti-climactic as the band seems to be falling apart at the seams, with two original members both leaving in the last 10 months.

Overall, the DVD is a nice, well-produced snapshot of a band who after a second shot at the brass ring, seem to be in limbo. Recommended for collectors, but rookies should start with the 1987 debut CD THE ULTRA-VIOLENCE, instead.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
Concert One
Live At Rock Hard Festival-May 27, 2007

1. Intro
2. Seemingly Endless Time
3. Voracious Souls
4. Mistress Of Pain
5. EX-TC
6. 3rd Floor
7. Thrown to The Wolves
8. 5 Steps Of Freedom
9. Thicker Than Blood
10. The Devil Incarnate
11. Disturbing The Peace
12. Stagnant
13. The Ultra-Violence (introducing Carnival Justice)
14. Kill AS One

Concert Two
Live in Adelsheim-May 25th, 2008

1. Lord Of Hate
2. Evil Priest
3. Buried Alive
4. Dethroned
5. Carnival Justice
6. Voracious Souls
7. Sonic Beatdown
8. When Worlds Collide
9. Seemingly Endless Time
10. Mistress Of Pain
11. God Vs. God
12. Steal The Crown
13. 3rd Floor
14. Soulless
15. Kill As One
16. The Ultra-Violence/Thrashers
17. Resurrection Machine

Technical Details:
Format Reviewed:
Run Time: 3 hours, 1
Screen: 16:9
Sound: PCM Stereo
Production Year: 2009