Reviewed: January 2009
Released: 2008, Cherry Red
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Mr. Rock


Ok, where do I start with this one? First off, the cover is a little misleading as METAL CITY is not just Venom. In fact, Venom is one of four bands found on this compilation DVD, each band contributing three songs. Some videos, some concert performances, METAL CITY is chalk full of very dated bands, playing very dated music. Well, maybe that’s a little harsh, so here’s the breakdown:

Venom – three live songs here: “7 Gates of Hell”, “Witching Hour”, and “Nightmare”. Two of the songs I’ve seen many times on the Power Hour or any other video station that shows heavy music. The footage is grainy and the sound is a little muddled, but let’s face it, Venom are one of the innovators of black metal and props should be given to them, though this footage does not really show them in a great light.

Warfare – “Burning Up”, “Metal Anarchy”, and “Rape” shown in a studio setting. The songs are barely passable, but the footage is terrible, with the band trying to look tough, and ‘metal’, acting fairly cliché throughout.

Saracen – “We Have Arrived”, “Love On Sight”, and “Cheatin’” are shown in what looks like a small club, though it could be shot in someone’s basement. This band is so out of place on a DVD like this that I just can’t imagine who thought it would be a good idea to put them here. The band sounds more like a pop band than even a rock band, so why are they here with Venom? I dunno, this one just escapes me.

Avenger – “Under The Hammer”, “Revenge Attack!”, and “Run For Your Life” fare little better than the previous two bands, though everything here just reeks of cheesy 80’s metal-lite. The band has some chops, but in 2009, it just sounds dated.

I know, the times were different back in the 80’s, and metal was a different beast, and yes, at the time, I dug stuff like this. That being said, does it mean I want to spend money on videos now when I can just go on to the internet and click on any number of video sites if I’m feeling nostalgic for 80’s videos? Not really.

So, at the end of the day, what are we left with? Not a lot, but if you are in the mood for some 80’s metal videos, METAL CITY just might be your choice.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. “7 Gates of Hell” – Venom
2. “Burning Up” – Warfare
3. “We Have Arrived” – Saracen
4. “Under The Hammer” – Avenger
5. “Metal Anarchy” – Warfare
6. “Witching Hour” – Venom
7. “Love On Sight” – Saracen
8. “Revenge Attack!” – Avenger
9. “Cheatin” – Saracen
10. “Run For Your Life” – Avenger
11. “Rape” – Warfare
12. “Nightmare” – Venom

Technical Details:
Format Reviewed:
Run Time:
Production Year: 2008




Please follow and like us: