Vengeance – Same/Same….But Different Alive

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: January 2008
Released: 2007, Metal Heaven/Border Music
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Last year Vengeance released their comeback album called BACK IN THE RING. They have since changed their record label toured with Axel Rudi Pell and Sinner. The band is now releasing a single live album comprised of their best songs. It was recorded all over Europe during the Back in the Ring tour in 2006. This Dutch act is all about heavy party metal and sound pretty close to AC/DC as far as guitar riffs are concerned. The lead singer Goewie sounds an awful lot like Brian Johnson, so the party factor is high when you listen to Vengeance.
This live album only has 10 tracks, which I think is a little cheap considering the band’s huge back-catalogue of songs. Maybe it would have been better if the band released a double live album instead and featured all of their hits. Vengeance includes hits like “Arabia”, “She is the Woman”, “Take it or Leave It” and “Bad Boy For Love”. They’ve only included “Back in the Ring” and “No Mercy” from their last studio album.
SAME/SAME BUT DIFFERENT ALIVE is all about joy and laughter; you can hear them having a blast on stage and the both guitarists Bourbon and Somers improvise many parts. Goewie invites the audience to sing along with him many times during the album; this is party, beer, sweat and a good time condensed into a live album.
Michael Voss edited, mixed and mastered the album and he’s done a great job capturing the spirit of the show. You can hear the exhilarated crowd the entire time which adds the live feeling. Even though the album was recorded during different shows, Voss manages to cut it all into a seamless single show.
If you’re a Vengeance fan, you have to have this album right now; it’s a great effort from one of the veterans in this genre. It’s a Christmas treat for all AC/DC and party metal lovers.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Take it or Leave it
2. Back in the Ring
3. No Mercy
4. May Heaven Strike Me Down
5. Dream World
6. Take Me To the Limit
7. Bad Boy for Love
8. She’s The Woman
9. Rock ’n’ Roll Shower
10. Arabia

Leon Goewie – lead vocals
Barend Courbios – bass
Jan Somers – guitar
Hans in’t Zandt – drums
Peter Bourbon – guitar