The Glasspack – Dirty Women

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: January 2008
Released: 2007, Small Stone Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Kentucky’s The Glasspack have been treading the stage boards for almost a decade now, and have managed to put out four albums in that time as well. No doubt, this band is busy. That being said, it seems that the last three years have been tough on the band as they’ve been quiet (release-wise) since 2004 and the entire band, except for leader Dirty Dave, have been replaced since last time out. That’s usually not a good sign, but hey, stranger things have happened to bands and they’ve come out fine.
I reviewed the band’s last album back in 2004 (BRIDGEBURNER) and enjoyed its Southern-fried stoner metal, but not the fact that only five of the eleven songs had vocals. Well it seems that somebody had the same thoughts I did, as DIRTY WOMEN is chalk full of both explosive riffs and Dirty Dave’s unique vocals. Right off the bat this is a major improvement over the previous album. The groove-quotient has risen considerably as well, with the band’s riffs getting catchier than ever before. Not all has changed though. The band’s same grimy, fuzzed-out sound remains, as does Dirty Dave’s penchant for exploring the plodding, drawn-out side of his music (see: “Louisiana Strawberry” and “Ice Cream, But No Reply”). However, the band hit harder and faster than ever before, as the majority of these 11 songs speed by at less than 3 minutes. Hitting hard and getting the fuck out of Dodge seems to be the order of the day here.
So, verdict? Somehow three years away and a complete change in membership have made The Glasspack stronger! I don’t know how, and I don’t care – I’m just glad they’re back and rocking again. DIRTY WOMEN is a strong album that stoner rock fans should not miss.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1) Taming the Ram
2) Fastback
3) My Curse
4) Lot Lizard
5) Ice Cream, But No Reply
6) Fire in the Trailer Park
7) Super Sport
8) Play It Loud (with the Rock n’ Roll Outlaw)
9) Lizard Reprise
10) Louisiana Strawberry
11) Farewell Little Girl

Dirty Dave Johnson: Vocals, Guitars
Chad Omen: Bass
Eric McManus: Drums
Brian Foor: Keyboards