Olympos Mons – Medievil

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: January 2008
Released: 2007, Scarlet Records/Sound Pollution
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Olympos Mons is a Finnish act releasing their second album called MEDIEVIL. This album has already been reviewed here, but I have a totally different opinion. The band plays melodic power metal with hints of folk music and a lot of keyboards and very catchy choruses.
Singer Ian E. Highill simply can’t do the music any justice at all. He’s got serious problems with keeping up with the lyrics because the music is going too fast for him. He has the tendency to scream at the top of his lungs and he’s got a really weak voice to top it all off. If it weren’t for him, the disc would’ve received a higher rating because the rest of the members are really skilled with their instruments.
According to the bio the 10 tracks on this album are about historical themes, dark secrets from medieval times and romantic dreams of mistreated lovers. Just by looking at the cover art you can tell that too. The presentation of the album in the bio sounded good and everything, but when it comes to the actual product I discovered the bio was totally wrong. Well, the material IS about medieval stuff and such, but the quality is so poor it’s not even funny. Olympos Mons sounds like just any other band in this genre; there’s nothing that captures me in the slightest. The only things that are OK are the orchestral arrangements. It’s not convincing, but it’s neatly done.
The production leaves much to wish for; Highill lies too high in the mix and the music is way too low. Producer Janne Saksa must have been sleeping when he recorded MEDIEVIL. It would’ve sounded much better if he had turned down the keyboards and turned up the guitars.
This album doesn’t impress in any way – and I’m being nice. This can be a tempting choice for fans of Stratovarius, Sonata Arctica or Hammerfall, but I think Olympos Mons are way too melodic and have weak material this time around. Maybe they can do better in the future.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. One Word
2. Frozen
3. The Emperors Return
4. The Price
5. Wolves
6. A Race Between Two Hearts
7. Fire and Ice
8. Medievil
9. Kingdom of Winter
10. Locked in Chains

Ian E. Highill – lead vocals
Jari Sundström – guitar
Krister Lundell – bass
Mikko Sepponen – drums