Indigo Dying – Indigo Dying

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: December 2007
Released: 2007, Frontiers Records
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

This is another project launched by Frontiers Records and its president Serafino Perugino and producer/musician Fabrizio Grossi. Indigo Dying revolves around the Italian/Swiss/German/English vocalist Gisa Vatchky who has worked with many familiar names within the hard rock scene. Both Mark Boals and Michael Kiske make guest appearances on the album as well. The drums are handled by another well known name: John Macaluso.
Perugino’s and Grossi’s aim with the project was to find hard rock or metal songs that would fit Vatchky’s voice. The description of the music on INDIGO DYING is a bit misguiding, because the project doesn’t deliver metal or hard rock; it’s melodic hard rock and nothing else. The guitar has a prominent place over the keyboards, which are only in the background. The music is very atmospheric and energetic and Vatchky is a great vocalist without being too “girly”. The material captures your attention and my personal favorites are “All I Never Wanted”, “Better”, “Shattered Life” and “Hear Me”. Those songs are melodic hard rock songs with lots of energy and heavy guitars.
“Breathe In Water” is a well-written ballad duet between Vatchky and Kiske. Their voices fit together perfectly and they create perfect harmony together. Mark Boals sings on “Superman” and “For Enough”; the first song is both a melodic hard rock and straight melodic rock track while the second one is a fast guitar-based melodic hard rock song that focuses on the hard rock. These songs belong to the quintessence of the album for sure. As always, Grossi has made a great production. That man must have been born in the producer’s seat because everything he touches turns to gold.
At the end of the day this is a solid album from a very interesting project. Hopefully we’ll get a second album by Indigo Dying.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. All I Never Wanted
2. Hear Me
3. Breathe In Water
4. Better
5. Taken
6. Superman
7. Island
8. Remember (I.O.U)
9. Real Life In Fairytale
10. For Enough
11. Shattered Life
12. Go

Gisa Vatchky – lead vocals
John Macaluso – drums
Mordechai “Mordy” Hauser – guitar
Fabrizio Grossi – bass, sitar, guitar, programming
Jamie Teramo – keyboards, B3, piano