Fatal Force – S/T

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: August 2006
Released: 2006, MTM Music/Zink Music
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

In the beginning of 2005, after completion of the second SECTION A album and his third all-instrumental release, the Danish guitarist Torben Enevoldsen started to write new material for the album, which is the one I’m going to review right now. This album contains harder material compared to the last ones, and Mr. Enevoldsen has gathered ten melodic metal tracks on this self-titled effort, all of them equally strong.

Mats Levén, the lead singer of Fatal Force, is one of Europe’s best voices, and as always he amazes me with what he can come up with. This album is no exception. I have to be honest when I say that a big part of the high rating is because of Mats Levén’s outstanding voice, and of course Mr. Enevoldsen’s skilled guitar playing. Unfortunately, he’s underestimated amongst the Swedish hardrock/metal scene and he deserves all the recognition he possibly can get. It seems to be uncertain about who produced the album, in the bio it says that Tommy Hansen has done it and on the album it says it’s Torben Enevoldsen. Whoever did it did a great job with no negative notes in it at all.

Because of both Mr.Levén’s magical voice and the great material, it’s really hard to pick any favorite tracks but here come a few: “Cavemen”, “No Question”, “Everyone”, “Insanity”, “Eye To Eye”, and “Domino”. It’s a brilliant album with great songs and a singer that kills; please buy this album, if not for the music then for Mats Levén!.

Labels: www.mtm-music.com AND www.zinkmusic.com


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
Far Away
No Question
Out Of Fuel
Let Me Know
The Only One
Eye To Eye

Mats Levén – lead vocals
Daniel Flores – drums
Torben Enevoldsen – guitar, bass