Bruce Dickinson – Anthology (DVD)

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: August 2006
Released: 2006, Sanctuary
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: EvilG


Three full live concerts and 14 videos from the solo career of Bruce Dickinson.

As any Bruce or Maiden fan already knows, ANTHOLOGY is Bruce Dickinson’s first solo DVD release. It contains about six hours worth of videos, live performances, interviews, and previously unreleased and archive material. This 3 DVD set is something every fan should pick up, but buyer beware, the live video quality is not up to par with the high-quality Maiden standards. This can be explained by both the time period it was recorded and for the newer stuff by the fact that it is a good quality bootleg. It’s really too bad that a high quality pro-shot live performance wasn’t available, but for fans this is easily better than not having it at all. As well, the 3 DVD set is reasonably priced, checking in at about the same price of most single music DVD releases.

The highlight of the DVD 1 is seeing the gig from the TATTOOED MILLIONAIRE tour. It’s not well-filmed, but is decent. The bands performance shines through and it was cool to hear that line-up play songs like “Born In \’58\”, “Hell On Wheels“, “No Lies”, and covering AC/DC’s classic “Sin City”. The SKUNKWORKS concert on this DVD looks a tad grainy and being from the Bruce-era where most figured he was going to leave metal behind, this is at times painful to watch. Some moments on the concert were ok like the live version of “Back From The Edge” but for the most part this is a snooze. Onto DVD 2, THE CHEMICAL WEDDING concert….as previously mentioned, this is basically a bootleg. It looks like it was filmed by recording what the large video screen displayed. Therefore, we get a sub-par picture and some inexcusable stuff like a camera zoomed in on Adrian while Roy is playing a solo, or vice-versa. The concert is great and all once you get past the picture imperfections. DVD 3 alone makes this nearly worth the price of the set as it contains all the Dickinson videos, many of which I’ve never seen before. The best part of this DVD, is that you can turn on the intro and get the behind the scenes story of each video before the video plays. The other highlight of DVD 3 is the lengthy interview with Bruce that delves into his latest album, song-writing, and influences. It would have been nice if the interview was a little longer with more information on Dickinson’s solo career. An added bonus is a short film that in essence serves as two Samson videos.

Despite some minor flaws, ANTHOLOGY is a great release that Dickinson fans will no doubt enjoy. I hope that there will be another DVD release in the next couple years with a better quality and longer concert, but all thing considered, this DVD is a must have.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
DVD 1:

Tattooed Millionaire Tour, August 14th 1990
Line-up: Bruce Dickinson (Vocals), Janick Gers (Guitar), Andy Carr (Bass), Dickie Fliszar (Drums).

01. Riding With The Angels
02. Born In \’58
03. Lickin\’ The Gun
04. Gypsy Road
05. Dive Dive Dive
06. Drum Solo
07. Zulu Zulu
08. The Ballad Of Mutt
09. Son Of A Gun
10. Hell On Wheels
11. All The Young Dudes
12. Tattooed Millionaire
13. No Lies
14. Fog On The Tyne
15. Winds Of Change
16. Sin City (AC/DC)
17. Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter (Iron Maiden)
18. Black Night (Deep Purple)

Skunkworks tour, Spain on May 31st and June 1st 1996
Line-up: Bruce Dickinson (Vocals), Alex Dickson (Guitars), Chris Dale (Bass), Alessandro Elena (Drums).

01. Space Race
02. Back From The Edge
03. Tattooed Millionaire
04. Inertia
05. Faith
06. Meltdown
07. I Will Not Accept The Truth
08. Laughing In The Hiding Bush
09. Tears Of The Dragon
10. God\’s Not Coming Back
11. Dreamstate
12. The Prisoner (Iron Maiden)

DVD 2:

Chemical Wedding Tour, Sao Paulo, 1999
Line-up: Bruce Dickinson (Vocals), Roy Z (Guitar), Adrian Smith (Guitars), Dave Ingraham (Drums), Eddie Casillas (Bass).

01. King In Crimson
02. Gates Of Urizen
03. Killing Floor
04. Book Of Thel
05. Tears Of The Dragon
06. Laughing In The Hiding Bush
07. Accident Of Birth
08. The Tower
09. Darkside Of Aquarius
10. The Road To Hell

DVD 3:

Promotional Videos
01. Tattooed Millionaire
02. All The Young Dudes
03. Dive Dive Dive
04. Born In \’58
05. Tears Of The Dragon
06. Shoot All The Clowns
07. Back From The Edge
08. Inertia
09. Accident Of Birth
10. Road To Hell
11. Man Of Sorrows
12. Killing Floor
13. The Tower
14. Abduction

Samson – Biceps Of Steel (15min film)

Tyranny Of Souls interview

Technical Details:
Format Reviewed:
Run Time: 6 hours
Screen: 4:3
Sound: PCM Stereo
Production Year: 2006




About EvilG 11421 Articles
Owner of