Atakhama – Existence Indifferent

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: November 2005
Released: 2005, Woodcut Records
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Out from the wrecked ruins of the Finnish Black metallers Funeris Nocturnum, rises brutal Death Metal mongers Atakhama. Atakhama contains actually all previous members of Funeris Nocturnum, with addition of Jimmy Salmi on vocals. Whereas Funeris Nocturnum surely enjoyed bathing in the blackest blood and practicing their unholy seremonies deep down in the darkest forests i.e. churning out a mindless Black Metal, Atakhama concentrates on playing a very modern sounding Death Metal with some Black Metal twists included here and there (mainly vocal-wise tho!) – and they are damn good at what they do. They indeed truly are…

Listening to band´s 9-song debut album titled EXISTENCE INDIFFERENT, comparisons to Morbid Angel are simply unavoidable. Actually it´s even kinda easy to say it´s definitely Morbid Angel that has influenced Atakhama´s sound most. The blistering riffages, the rhythms, etc. – come all pretty much from the Trey Azathoth -school, and for Atakhama´s positive achievement it must be said the band has found a more successful recipe to sound way more interesting yet convincing than the Morbid Angel -fellows have been capable of delivering their goods on their latest album HERETIC. And this is the fact without covering with any sugar-filled exaggeration or anything. It just is the way it is… a cold and hard fact.

Also, the band´s ability to spice their sound up with some of these somewhat hyper-aggressive, fast parts that are familiar to some Emperor albums, make their outcome even a more pleasing listening journey – with addition of Jimmy´s ability to use both deep Death Metal growls as well as spine-chilling Black Metal shrieks an effective way in the songs.

Without sounding corny or childish or anything, in my opinion Atakhama have come up with a very promising debut album, and the more you listen to it, the more you realize how talented these guys truly are to make on impact on the diggers of a more extreme side of metal. EXISTENSE INDIFFERENT is undoubtedly one of the most promising and ear-ripping Death Metal debuts I have heard for a long time, so at least now you know what to expect from them and especially from this particular album in question.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Regiment of Inhumanity
02. Lifeless and Blistering
03. Predatory Acts
04. World to Dominate
05. Refuelling the Black Blood
06. Dead Wounded Imprisoned
07. Consequence
08. Hypothesis of Humankind
09. Existence Indifferent

Jimmy Salmi – Vocals
Simo Rahikainen – Guitar
J-V Hintikka – Guitar
Matti Honkonen – Bass
Timo Häkkinen – Drums