Wolverine – The Window Purpose

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: August 2005
Released: 2005, Earache
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Wolverine has been around for awhile now, releasing 2 albums and an EP so far. Last year the band released the brooding COLD LIGHT OF MONDAY that saw them moving further away from their heavy metal roots and incorporating more minimalist structures into their music. While the album was OK, it wasn’t what I was hoping for. It was clearly a step down from their full-length debut, THE WINDOW PURPOSE.
Initially released in 2001 on the small DVS Records, THE WINDOW PURPOSE opened a lot of ears and served notice that Wolverine was a talented band that deserved attention. Thankfully Earache Records has wisely chosen to re-release the album, hopefully allowing more people to hear what the fuss was about four years ago.
What WAS the fuss all about? It was about nothing less than a brilliantly conceived, moving, and enchanting progressive metal aural feast. Wolverine managed to grasp a vast array of styles and sounds and weave them together into a metallic tapestry that proved that there was more to prog-metal than Dream Theater clones. Simply put, Wolverine forged a sound of their own and immediately took the listener on a fascinating journey. From the sinister melodies of “His Cold Touch” to the vicious/soft-rock insanity of “The Storm Inside” (drummer Marcus Losbjer really gets to show off his growls here), THE WINDOW PURPOSE never rests comfortably in one place for too long. Of course, it would take virtuoso performances from the band to pull complicated material like this off, and of course they come through with flying colors, especially vocalist Stefan Zell.
Though Wolverine has taken a bit of a strange turn in recent years, THE WINDOW PURPOSE remains an enduring marker of progressive metal. If you missed this album the first time around, make sure you don’t make the same mistake a second time.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1) End
2) My Room
3) His Cold Touch
4) …
5) Leaving Yesterday
6) Towards Loss
7) The Storm Inside
8) Coma
9) Release
10) Post Life
11) Again!

Andreas Baglien: Keyboards
Per Broddesson: Guitars
Thomas Jansson: Bass
Marcus Losbjer: Drums/Percussion/Growls
Mikael Zell: Guitars
Stefan Zell: Vocals