Jackyl – Live From the Full Throttle

Spread the metal:

Reviewed: January 2005
Released: 2004, n/a
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Waspman

Probably one of the least likely bands to have survived through the 1990’s, Jackyl are still rantin’ and ravin’ around the US of A in 2004, captured live at the Full Throttle in front of what sounds like a large and appreciative crowd. The band has always been about heavy, blues-influenced rock topped off with Jesse’s distinctive squeal, and that still hasn’t changed, the band sounding just as good now as they did in 1993. Perhaps Jesse sounds a little strained as the set wears on, but overall these are all fantastic renditions of some of Jackyl’s best known songs.
The set list is both good and bad. There are a number of songs on here that I haven’t heard before, which is no surprise given that I lost touch with the band after their second album, PUSH COMES TO SHOVE. Even so, songs like “Mr. Evil”, and “You Want It Heavy” are quintessential Jackyl songs and fit in perfectly with the bands more well-known older material – which brings me to the biggest problem with the album. There are WAY too many songs taken from their debut album. In fact, five of the ten songs are from that disc. Yeah, it was their biggest hit, and all are good songs, but still, c’mon guys, it has been a decade since that album came out, open it up a little! Still, I’m glad to see that my favorite Jackyl song, “Push Comes To Shove” was included. And yes, the chainsaw makes an appearance on “The Lumberjack”.
After all is said and done, this isn’t really the best live album I’ve ever heard, but it somehow makes me smile to know that a band like Jackyl are still out there, grinding out the miles on the road and cranking out their lunk-headed rock, oblivious to the fact that the glory years are gone, never to return. Still, if you’re looking for a good time, Jackyl will be first in line to give it to ya.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1) The More You Hate It
2) I Stand Alone
3) Mr. Evil
4) You Want It Heavy
5) Push Comes To Shove
6) Down This Road Before
7) Down On Me
8) Dirty Little Mind
9) Redneck Punk
10) The Lumberjack